Sparkling Holiday Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I cut this recipe in half and used this summer's organic strawberries that I froze mid-summer, though I did use fresh cranberries. I wanted to do a trial run to see if this would be a great jam to add to my holiday gift baskets this year. I did not chop the strawberries, I left them whole and just mashed them slightly with a potato masher a bit after they'd thawed a little. Instead of margerine, I used butter and I just added a teaspoon for the whole half batch. I was able to get four one-pint jars out of a half batch. Very pretty jam and quite good, never mind simple. I'd like to try this with Splenda and see if I get the same result, as I have friends that are diabetic or watching their weight and cannot have sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
OMG good!! This was loved by all. I used 7 cups of the chopped strawberries (no cranberries on hand), 7 cups of sugar, 1 package (1.75 oz) of powdered pectin, and juice of a lemon. I followed the cooking directions exactly and put the jars in a water bath for 5-10 minutes. This made 8 half pint jars of preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Even though it is nowhere near the holidays (unless you count Indipendence Day!), I just finished making this with fresh strawberries. I used a little less sugar (about 4 pounds plus 1 cup), but even before it cooled we spread some on bread with butter, and it was set up very nicely. We are looking foreward to it cooling and eating more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gunnison, Utah, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Very easy recipe, I've made it several times to give as gifts and it is well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This recipe gets five stars because the combination of flavours is so delicious. The actual recipe was standard for jam making and so was no more special than most jam recipes, but this made it easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaydough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheSlyBear
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Not bad at all -- I halved the recipe as this makes just too much. Next time I'll up the ratio of cranberries to strawberries as I'd like it a bit more tart. Also, an immersion blender saved lots of time by avoiding having to chop up the berries in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheSlyBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This jam was easy to make and delicious!! It got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I got exactly eight 1-pint (2 cups) jars out of this recipe. It looks beautiful and makes a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Made 12 jars of this today for Christmas gifts! It tastes wonderful! I used 3 bags of frozen strawberries and 1 bag of fresh cranberries. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly. We had a little leftover so we tried it with dinner and my husband and kids LOVED it. I ordered custom made labels from a label company to put on the top of the jar to say "Berry Christmas!" I will make this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made jam today using this recipe as inspiration. First time I've done any canning in at least 15 years and I'm happy to say it's like riding a bicycle. I had no problem remembering the process of making preserves! I used 4 cups for crushed strawberries, 6 oz cranberries, 1 pkg Sure-Jell, 2 tsp lime juice, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves, and 7 cups sugar. Smells heavenly and tastes divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States