Sparkling Holiday Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Delicious. Easy to make and great for gifts. We got 15 half-pint jars out of this one recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made a half batch of this lovely jam at the very last moment on Christmas Eve. I had to use liquid pectin since I was out of powdered. I used 4 1/2 C strawberries, 7 1/2oz fresh cranberries, juice of 1 lemon, juice and zest of 1 orange, and about 2# 5oz sugar with 1 3oz packet of liquid Certo pectin. Once it cooled down it set perfectly and has a delightful bright candy red hue that is especially nice in quilted jars. It does taste a bit more like strawberry than cranberry, so next time I will increase the cranberries and most likely only use 2# of sugar so it is more tart. I know my family will love it as is and am really glad I tried it out. Thank you for sharing this gem! To help ensure even fruit suspension in your finished product, I recommend letting your jam set about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, before ladling into your jars so the fruit pieces won't float to the top at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoxOfSparkles

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I make this recipe every year for Christmas and give it out as a gift. I purchase the supplies from costco to save money: large thing of sugar, strawberries in the frozen section, and cranberries from the produce section (pectin is purchased from my local grocery, as well as the jars). It is completely affordable and everybody loves it! I always make an extra batch so that we can use it through the year as well. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is delicious! As many others, I made some adjustments. I used 2 lbs. frozen strawberries, 18 oz. fresh cranberries, 4 lbs., plus one cup of sugar, zest and juice of 1 lemon, 8 tbls. powdered pectin. I have made 3 batches so far. Makes 12 1/2 pints jars. This is the best jam I've ever tasted. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Great flavor combination! Gave it as Christmas gifts and was asked for more jars by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have made this recipe for many years after being given it by a friend Suzanne. This jam is a favorite of mine and those that I give it to. Last July I went to a festival in a small town in Michigan and gave the recipe to a couple of nice ladies who had booths selling jams and jellies. I know it as "Christmas Jam" It is delicious and what a wonderful sight it is with its rich red color! So appropriate for the Christmas/Holiday season. Betty Bryant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was awsome, fresh strawberries and cranberries. Added ornge zest and some orange juise. It was delish and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Made this last year for Christmas gifts. Was sweet but delicious! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I still get rave reviews on this! I used some frozen and some fresh strawberries. It didn't seem to affect the outcome either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This came out amazing! I have failed at so many jams and this recipe gave me my "jam" confidence back...thank you! I had forgotten to chop the cranberries so mid way through cooking I threw the whole thing in the blender then tossed it back on the stove. I was a bit worried this would ruin it but it gave it a smooth consistency and its not chunky at all. This will surely become a tradition. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States