Spareribs with Savory Sage Rub Recipe - Allrecipes.com
Spareribs with Savory Sage Rub Recipe
  • READY IN ABOUT hrs

Spareribs with Savory Sage Rub

Recipe by  

"Sage is the dominant spice in this rub for spareribs. I usually pour barbeque sauce over the ribs during the last 15 minutes of cooking. I've received many compliments for this recipe -- Enjoy!"

Back
Next
+ Recipe Box + Shopping List + Menu Print

Ingredients Edit and Save

Original recipe makes 8 servings Change Servings
ADVERTISEMENT
  • PREP

    10 mins
  • COOK

    2 hrs
  • READY IN

    2 hrs 10 mins

Directions

  1. Preheat an outdoor grill for high heat and lightly oil grate.
  2. In a small bowl, mix sage, lemon pepper, dried rosemary, garlic powder and dried thyme. Rub the mixture into pork spareribs.
  3. Place ribs on the prepared grill. Turning often, slowly cook approximately 2 hours, or to desired doneness.
Kitchen-Friendly View
ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews More Reviews

Most Helpful Positive Review
Jan 25, 2004

This is easily a 5 recipe, for ease and flavor and LOW CARBS (0.8)! My BBQ was stolen, so I cooked the spareribs in the oven instead. 4 pounds of them at 350 for 1 hour. Should've taken them out after 40, as they were pretty dry. MY fault though. The flavor was great and it was oh, so, so easy. Thank you, Mr. Green!

 
Most Helpful Critical Review
Sep 21, 2009

After having enjoyed numerous recipes from this site I am sorry to say this is the worst one I have ever attempted to follow. What is meant by turning up the heat on the barbecue yet one is to cook the ribs slowly? They were mostly charcoal after just 1 hour. The only tasty part about the result was the barbecue sauce.

 
Jan 25, 2004

This is an excellent rub. I actually used it on pork chops with nothing else. The chops came out with a great flavor that my husband and I both liked. I have some left and will use it on other meats to see how they come out.

 
Apr 23, 2009

This was really yummy and super easy. I used country style ribs instead of spare ribs, which cut the cook time down signifigantly. I let the meat sit for about a 1/2 hour after spreading the rub mix on. I turned the grill on LOW and basted with sweet baby rays honey bbq sauce when there were about 10 minutes left to cook, my boyfriend likes spicy so I used some Famous Daves Devils Spit on his as well. The total cook time was about a 1/2 hour.

 
Jul 07, 2010

I used fresh sage from our garden, finely minced; freshly ground tellicherry pepper; 4 cloves of garden garlic pulverized in a small processor; fresh garden rosemary & thyme very finely minced; 2 tbs. fresh lemon juice; 2 tbs virgin olive oil. Slow cooked the ribs on gas grill with a smokebox full of alder chips - 6 hours @ 225 degrees, indirect heat. Used country-style ribs...what a great recipe! What a great dinner! Yummy! Five+ stars! Thanks for posting this!

 
Apr 12, 2008

I was looking for a sage rub for chicken when I ran across this one and decided to give it a try....it was PERFECT. Just enough spice to enhance the flavor of the chicken but not over-powering. I'm having some friends over for ribs tomorrow and will try it again. Stay tuned!!

 
Jul 29, 2009

I made this and everyone loved it!

 
Jun 28, 2009

This recipe was great for spareribs! For the last 30 minutes I used the Delicious Barbeque Sauce by blond on these website, and my ribs were awesome! I marinated the ribs overnight and cooked them in the oven for 1 and 1/2 hours on 350 degrees

 

Rate This Recipe

Glad you liked it! Your friends will, too:
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutrition

  • Calories
  • 632 kcal
  • 32%
  • Carbohydrates
  • 0.8 g
  • < 1%
  • Cholesterol
  • 181 mg
  • 60%
  • Fat
  • 53.2 g
  • 82%
  • Fiber
  • 0.4 g
  • 1%
  • Protein
  • 35.2 g
  • 70%
  • Sodium
  • 357 mg
  • 14%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

See More
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

How to Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, slow-cooked pork ribs on your barbeque grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States