Spareribs and Kraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Classic German. Just like I had growing up. I did increase cooking time about 20 min. Beef ribs can be used too. Probably the best way to cook beef ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made this recipe on my slow cooker instead of the oven. I layered the sauerkraut, ribs and potatoes and cooked as other spare rib recipes for the slowcooker recoment. I also aded some mustard to my rib seasoning and apple juice for liquid. I will definately make this recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good, I also used garlic salt and garlic pepper and, seared the ribs and baked them for 1 hr at 400 and then 300 for 3 hrs it was so tender and the potatoes on the top ,I put the saurkraut on the bottom.this made them so tender and moist,I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Update to my previous rating. I used 'sliced spareribs' (not country style), sorry for the error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra DeFalco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Most excellent! I've made this recipe twice in the past two weeks...once with bone-in and once with boneless ribs and it turned out fabulous on each occasion. I also used "plain" sauerkraut once and kraut with caraway seeds once...each magnificent! One caveat: if you read the recipe and follow the part about 30 mins at 350 degrees....trichinosis is likely to ensue and the potatoes will be as hard as quantum mechanics. A solid hour in the oven,at a minimum, and the tenderness of the ribs will bring tears to your eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Das ist gut!! Just like Mama used to make. :) I used boneless country ribs and they came out nice and tender. I used garlic powder, onion salt and pepper over the ribs before the first bake. I used a can of sauerkraut, (forgot to check how much they called for here before fixing) but next time I'd use two cans, it went quickly! I increased the cooking time to ensure the ribs would be tender. :) This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I grill the ribs first, searing them at high heat then cooking them indirectly for an hour or so at medium heat. I seanson the ribs with coarse pepper, sea salt, and garlic powder before grilling, then add them to the kraut mixture, cover and cook in a preheated 300 degree oven for a couple of hours. Excellent with rye bread and boiled new potatoes with butter and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Good basic recipe. I seared boneless county ribs, on the grill. Seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. Used 2 cans of kraut, shredded an apple into it too. layered crock pot with kraut on bottom, then the ribs on top and surrounded that with potatoes. cooked on low for 6-8 hours, came out tasty, good and tender. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Nice basic recipe. browned the ribs in the oven, drained off the fat, then put them in a slow cooker. To the kraut I drained only half the liquid, shredded a small apple, and medium potato. I tossed this together with a tablespoon of caraway seeds, and placed this mixture in and around the ribs, cooked them on low for six hrs. The end result, was a falling off the bone, flavorful meal. I served these with twice backed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was a delicious recipe. My children all loved it! I used boneless ribs and they were so tender and juicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Stevo
Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States