Spareribs and Kraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Update to my previous rating. I used 'sliced spareribs' (not country style), sorry for the error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra DeFalco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Classic German. Just like I had growing up. I did increase cooking time about 20 min. Beef ribs can be used too. Probably the best way to cook beef ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Das ist gut!! Just like Mama used to make. :) I used boneless country ribs and they came out nice and tender. I used garlic powder, onion salt and pepper over the ribs before the first bake. I used a can of sauerkraut, (forgot to check how much they called for here before fixing) but next time I'd use two cans, it went quickly! I increased the cooking time to ensure the ribs would be tender. :) This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good, I also used garlic salt and garlic pepper and, seared the ribs and baked them for 1 hr at 400 and then 300 for 3 hrs it was so tender and the potatoes on the top ,I put the saurkraut on the bottom.this made them so tender and moist,I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I grill the ribs first, searing them at high heat then cooking them indirectly for an hour or so at medium heat. I seanson the ribs with coarse pepper, sea salt, and garlic powder before grilling, then add them to the kraut mixture, cover and cook in a preheated 300 degree oven for a couple of hours. Excellent with rye bread and boiled new potatoes with butter and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made this recipe on my slow cooker instead of the oven. I layered the sauerkraut, ribs and potatoes and cooked as other spare rib recipes for the slowcooker recoment. I also aded some mustard to my rib seasoning and apple juice for liquid. I will definately make this recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Good basic recipe. I seared boneless county ribs, on the grill. Seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. Used 2 cans of kraut, shredded an apple into it too. layered crock pot with kraut on bottom, then the ribs on top and surrounded that with potatoes. cooked on low for 6-8 hours, came out tasty, good and tender. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Most excellent! I've made this recipe twice in the past two weeks...once with bone-in and once with boneless ribs and it turned out fabulous on each occasion. I also used "plain" sauerkraut once and kraut with caraway seeds once...each magnificent! One caveat: if you read the recipe and follow the part about 30 mins at 350 degrees....trichinosis is likely to ensue and the potatoes will be as hard as quantum mechanics. A solid hour in the oven,at a minimum, and the tenderness of the ribs will bring tears to your eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I LOVE country ribs and sauerkraut!!! I always come to this site to double check, to seeif what I'm thinking of making is here. I have made this on my own without a recipe. I thought I'd just check to see if maybe there were some other ideas. I always brown my ribs in a frying pan 1st. Don't need to add oil. The ribs have MORE than enough grease to cook with. That grease gets tossed out. I season with salt (not much, as the sauerkraut has plenty) pepper, granulated garlic and Johnnys Seasoning. I then place the ribs in my crock pot, with the sauerkraut. Put the lid on, place the crock pot on high, and go about my way. About an hour before we eat, I make mashed potatoes. MY personal little trick with my mashed potatoes is, instead of using milk with a little bit of butter with pepper, is to use a little bit of canned milk. To my family and myself, it makes the mashed potatoes not quite so thin. Then we can make a little well in the center of the potatoes and put sauerkraut and juice over the top. This is my little kingdom of heaven. Thank you for putting this recipe up!!! It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Norman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I gave this one four stars only because I did some tweaking. I took the advice of some reviewers, and browned ribs in a pan, baked ribs for one hour at 400 (covered), added the kraut and baked for three and a half hours at 300 (covered with foil), added a little water, brown sugar and shredded apple to the kraut before baking. My gosh, these were so good! Just like my mom made. No need for a fork because the meat was so tender. Served with rye bread and mashed potatoes. I absolutely will make these again. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States