Spareribs and Kraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good, I also used garlic salt and garlic pepper and, seared the ribs and baked them for 1 hr at 400 and then 300 for 3 hrs it was so tender and the potatoes on the top ,I put the saurkraut on the bottom.this made them so tender and moist,I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I've been making this recipe for years. Only I use garlic salt and pepper to season the ribs. Then I brown them and leave them at the bottom of the pan and put the sauerkraut on top. The garlic salt really adds some zip to the meat. I serve it with mashed potatoes and my husband is in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mission Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Das ist gut!! Just like Mama used to make. :) I used boneless country ribs and they came out nice and tender. I used garlic powder, onion salt and pepper over the ribs before the first bake. I used a can of sauerkraut, (forgot to check how much they called for here before fixing) but next time I'd use two cans, it went quickly! I increased the cooking time to ensure the ribs would be tender. :) This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I doubled the time for the ribs and the kraut. The ribs were cooked ok, but not falling off the bone tender. Agree with an earlier reviewer, an hour for the ribs and three hours for everything combined. Also, I added 1/4 of a chopped onion to the sauerkraut. It was too crunchy and prominent at the end. Pre-cooking is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I TRIED THIS RECIPE AND EVEN TWEAKING IT, IT CAME OUT BAD. IF YOU TRY THIS, I WOULD SUGGEST INTERMINGLING THE SAUERKRAUT ALL OVER THE RIBS TO GIVE A BETTER TASTE AND ELIMINATE THE PEPPER AND SALT AND ADD GALIC AND ONION POWDER. WE HAD TO COOK OURS WAY LONGER, AND IT CAME OUT TOUGH, FAR FROM WHAT WE EXPECTED. NOT A WAY TO START OUT THE NEW YEAR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Nice basic recipe. browned the ribs in the oven, drained off the fat, then put them in a slow cooker. To the kraut I drained only half the liquid, shredded a small apple, and medium potato. I tossed this together with a tablespoon of caraway seeds, and placed this mixture in and around the ribs, cooked them on low for six hrs. The end result, was a falling off the bone, flavorful meal. I served these with twice backed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Its a good basic recipes that can take tweaking. I sprinkled the ribs with some ground sage as well as the salt and pepper. Also added a bay leaf to the sauerkraut. I also baked the ribs at 350 for 1 hour before adding the vegetables and then left it at that temp for another hour. The ribs literally fell off the bones! My husband just loved it and it's now a part of our permanent recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Update to my previous rating. I used 'sliced spareribs' (not country style), sorry for the error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra DeFalco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Most excellent! I've made this recipe twice in the past two weeks...once with bone-in and once with boneless ribs and it turned out fabulous on each occasion. I also used "plain" sauerkraut once and kraut with caraway seeds once...each magnificent! One caveat: if you read the recipe and follow the part about 30 mins at 350 degrees....trichinosis is likely to ensue and the potatoes will be as hard as quantum mechanics. A solid hour in the oven,at a minimum, and the tenderness of the ribs will bring tears to your eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
They were tasty, I would make them again. But you really DO have to drain ALL of the grease before covering and baking second time around. I DID and they were still a bit greasy. But I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States