Spareribs and Kraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
RECIPE WAS SO, SO, EXPECTED IT TO BE BETTER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Its a good basic recipes that can take tweaking. I sprinkled the ribs with some ground sage as well as the salt and pepper. Also added a bay leaf to the sauerkraut. I also baked the ribs at 350 for 1 hour before adding the vegetables and then left it at that temp for another hour. The ribs literally fell off the bones! My husband just loved it and it's now a part of our permanent recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I TRIED THIS RECIPE AND EVEN TWEAKING IT, IT CAME OUT BAD. IF YOU TRY THIS, I WOULD SUGGEST INTERMINGLING THE SAUERKRAUT ALL OVER THE RIBS TO GIVE A BETTER TASTE AND ELIMINATE THE PEPPER AND SALT AND ADD GALIC AND ONION POWDER. WE HAD TO COOK OURS WAY LONGER, AND IT CAME OUT TOUGH, FAR FROM WHAT WE EXPECTED. NOT A WAY TO START OUT THE NEW YEAR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was a very easy, quick and delicious recipe, I seasoned the ribs with pork rub, drained and slightly rinsed the kraut,I used a 32oz jar of Kraut. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I've been making this recipe for years. Only I use garlic salt and pepper to season the ribs. Then I brown them and leave them at the bottom of the pan and put the sauerkraut on top. The garlic salt really adds some zip to the meat. I serve it with mashed potatoes and my husband is in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mission Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good, I also used garlic salt and garlic pepper and, seared the ribs and baked them for 1 hr at 400 and then 300 for 3 hrs it was so tender and the potatoes on the top ,I put the saurkraut on the bottom.this made them so tender and moist,I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
They were tasty, I would make them again. But you really DO have to drain ALL of the grease before covering and baking second time around. I DID and they were still a bit greasy. But I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I doubled the time for the ribs and the kraut. The ribs were cooked ok, but not falling off the bone tender. Agree with an earlier reviewer, an hour for the ribs and three hours for everything combined. Also, I added 1/4 of a chopped onion to the sauerkraut. It was too crunchy and prominent at the end. Pre-cooking is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Update to my previous rating. I used 'sliced spareribs' (not country style), sorry for the error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra DeFalco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Classic German. Just like I had growing up. I did increase cooking time about 20 min. Beef ribs can be used too. Probably the best way to cook beef ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States