Spareribs and Kraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I gave this one four stars only because I did some tweaking. I took the advice of some reviewers, and browned ribs in a pan, baked ribs for one hour at 400 (covered), added the kraut and baked for three and a half hours at 300 (covered with foil), added a little water, brown sugar and shredded apple to the kraut before baking. My gosh, these were so good! Just like my mom made. No need for a fork because the meat was so tender. Served with rye bread and mashed potatoes. I absolutely will make these again. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I LOVE country ribs and sauerkraut!!! I always come to this site to double check, to seeif what I'm thinking of making is here. I have made this on my own without a recipe. I thought I'd just check to see if maybe there were some other ideas. I always brown my ribs in a frying pan 1st. Don't need to add oil. The ribs have MORE than enough grease to cook with. That grease gets tossed out. I season with salt (not much, as the sauerkraut has plenty) pepper, granulated garlic and Johnnys Seasoning. I then place the ribs in my crock pot, with the sauerkraut. Put the lid on, place the crock pot on high, and go about my way. About an hour before we eat, I make mashed potatoes. MY personal little trick with my mashed potatoes is, instead of using milk with a little bit of butter with pepper, is to use a little bit of canned milk. To my family and myself, it makes the mashed potatoes not quite so thin. Then we can make a little well in the center of the potatoes and put sauerkraut and juice over the top. This is my little kingdom of heaven. Thank you for putting this recipe up!!! It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Norman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This has been an all time favorite in my family. I did make a few changes. Boil bone in ribs to get the grease out. Use only B&G brand canned saurkraut,(makes a big difference in flavor) place ribs and saurkraut in baking dish add 1/2 cup of water. Place in oven at 400 degrees for 45 mins to an hour. Baste twice and the saurkraut is tangy and sweet and the ribs melt in your mouth! Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very bland. Needed more seasoning. Also needed to cook an extra 1/2 hour since potatoes were undercooked by that amount of time. Could have used a 2nd package of sauerkraut too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Most excellent! I've made this recipe twice in the past two weeks...once with bone-in and once with boneless ribs and it turned out fabulous on each occasion. I also used "plain" sauerkraut once and kraut with caraway seeds once...each magnificent! One caveat: if you read the recipe and follow the part about 30 mins at 350 degrees....trichinosis is likely to ensue and the potatoes will be as hard as quantum mechanics. A solid hour in the oven,at a minimum, and the tenderness of the ribs will bring tears to your eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Good basic recipe. I seared boneless county ribs, on the grill. Seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. Used 2 cans of kraut, shredded an apple into it too. layered crock pot with kraut on bottom, then the ribs on top and surrounded that with potatoes. cooked on low for 6-8 hours, came out tasty, good and tender. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made this recipe on my slow cooker instead of the oven. I layered the sauerkraut, ribs and potatoes and cooked as other spare rib recipes for the slowcooker recoment. I also aded some mustard to my rib seasoning and apple juice for liquid. I will definately make this recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Nice basic recipe. browned the ribs in the oven, drained off the fat, then put them in a slow cooker. To the kraut I drained only half the liquid, shredded a small apple, and medium potato. I tossed this together with a tablespoon of caraway seeds, and placed this mixture in and around the ribs, cooked them on low for six hrs. The end result, was a falling off the bone, flavorful meal. I served these with twice backed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I grill the ribs first, searing them at high heat then cooking them indirectly for an hour or so at medium heat. I seanson the ribs with coarse pepper, sea salt, and garlic powder before grilling, then add them to the kraut mixture, cover and cook in a preheated 300 degree oven for a couple of hours. Excellent with rye bread and boiled new potatoes with butter and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was a delicious recipe. My children all loved it! I used boneless ribs and they were so tender and juicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Stevo
Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States