Spanish Style White Bean and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This is a very pretty soup. Easy to make. I would start by boiling the beans and wait till the beans are almost cooked untill cooking the sausages. Also, it does not really say what to do with the saffron once it is soaking. I assumed just add it to the pot. As a personal preference I lowered the amount of the garlic. I used italian sausage and added some black and cayenne peppers to add the spice of the andouille. I will definitely make again and next time use the adouille. Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Kale wasn't available so I substituted baby spinich I am on a low fat low salt diet so I used Italian turkey sausage and salt free chicken stock. I followed everything else to recipe. It turned out wonderful. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I love this recipe. I have made it several times. Even my kids eat it. The sausage is very important to this soup -- make sure it is andouille sausage. It adds much of the flavor. Also, I used canned beans and started the recipe at step 3. It makes this soup far less time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
this so was so simple and sooo good, will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEPATCHOULI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SIRELROKA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I ended up changing the recipe at little due to what I had on hand. I substituted green bell pepper for the red, turkey sausage for the andouille, and I browned the sausage in cajun seasoning instead of adding sweet paprika. I'm sure the recipe is just as delicious as originally intended, but this is what was in the kitchen. My husband and I thought this soup was awesome. I will definitely cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIRELROKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I just made this soup and it is definaley a keeper. I did make a few changes however. I used navy beans, since I don't care for northern beans. And I've never heard of saffron so I left that out. And I used italian sausage and added red pepper flakes to spice it up and a few chicken bouillion cubes. I tossed everything in the crock pot except the sausage and kale. When everything was almost done, I added my cooked meat and sauted kale and cooked another hour to blend in. This is absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Mine turned out more like a stew, but it was really good! I used navy beans instead of Northern beans, but they worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this last winter for a family Spanished themed dinner. It was WONDERFUL! I have made it a couple time since and it is clearly a favorite of mine. I have modified the cooking a bit. First, I boiled the beans according to the instructions on the pkg. I believe you put the beans in water, bring to boil, remove from heat and let it sit an hour. This reduces cooking time enormously. Second, I don't cook the sausage separately. The only Andouille sausage I have found was precooked so I sliced it up and added it to the soup. Third, since the soup has to simmer it may lose liquid, I add water or broth in order to compensate and then it ends up as soup, as it should. Fourth, I add the sausage to the beans when simmering, it gives it more flavor and the beans need longer than 10. I used ALL the ingrediants as the recipe calls. I used kale for the first time and it was wonderful. Saffron is expensive but this soup requires it to be done correctly. Mmmm I think I need to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
We liked this soup a lot! I cooked the beans first since I don't always have luck cooking beans and just browned the andouille, otherwise followed the recipe. The saffron adds a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very complex delicious soup and I didn't even use the saffron-thought hubby would not be happy. After reading reviews I only cooked up about 4 oz. of beans in 2 c chicken broth and 2 cups water. Added those and cooking liquid to simmering soup when they were tender. I added celery and carrot for even more veggies, and used baby spinach instead of kale as it was on sale really cheap. I did add a pinch of red pepper flakes as I wasn't sure how spicy our sausage was. The consistancy was very brothy which is the way hubs likes his soup. Another new soup for our winter rotation -Thank you Pippymoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States