Spanish Style White Bean and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
The ingredients were great, but after reading the other reviews, I changed the directions a great deal: I cooked the beans by themselves the day before and chilled them down until needed (Boiling water poured on dry beans, 4 hour soak, 1 hour boil). I sliced and browned the sausage without boiling it first. This went into the simmering chicken stock with bay leaf and saffron. Using the remaining olive oil from the sausage, I sauteed the onions and bell pepper. I then added the garlic and paprika. This also went into the soup. At this point, I added the beans and kale. I brought the soup to a boil and then covered, reduced to a simmer, and let simmer for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
So good! I even forgot the saffron which I was very intrigued by!! Darnit! Used spinach instead of kale cause it's what I had. Yummy stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The has quickly become a favorite in my house! Goes together quickly, and I love sneaking the extra kale into the family diet without arguing. I use two cans of black beans, and have done both andouille sausage and regular kielbasa. Served with salad and some sourdough, it's a sure hit on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Fast and easy . Delicious. I substituted tumeric for the saffron, otherwise did not change it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Used hot Italian turkey sausage out of the casing, and also used fat free/low sodium chicken broth. Added a diced zucchini as well...great way to use up 1/2 bag of chopped and washed kale that I had to use. Also added some dried basil and oregano. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Very nice and unique soup. I was able to make it in a crockpot putting the kale and safforn in the last hour with very good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Spicy and packs a little heat! Made three "slight" changes. Used canned Great Northern beans, 1/2 tsp paprika and canned spinach instead of kale. I cook according to what I have on hand and what I got on sale at the grocery store. Looked up recipe for Andouille sausage, which I got at the grocers for 1.99 lb, and this recipe fit what was essentially in my cupboard and did not disappoint! Try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Kale wasn't available so I substituted baby spinich I am on a low fat low salt diet so I used Italian turkey sausage and salt free chicken stock. I followed everything else to recipe. It turned out wonderful. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was my first time cooking with kale. I couldn't pass it up at our local farmers market it looked so lovely. I had andouille in the freezer and had no idea what to do with it, or the kale for that matter, until I came across this recipe. So happy that I did. I didn't have any saffron so I left that out and I used canned beans because I didn't have any dry on hand nor did I have the time to soak them properly. I did add a bit more seasoning, mostly poultry seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, and powdered rosemary. I will make this again next time I buy kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great Recipe. I used spinach instead of kale and a sweet Italian sausage instead of andouille sausage. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States