Spanish Style White Bean and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The has quickly become a favorite in my house! Goes together quickly, and I love sneaking the extra kale into the family diet without arguing. I use two cans of black beans, and have done both andouille sausage and regular kielbasa. Served with salad and some sourdough, it's a sure hit on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Fast and easy . Delicious. I substituted tumeric for the saffron, otherwise did not change it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Used hot Italian turkey sausage out of the casing, and also used fat free/low sodium chicken broth. Added a diced zucchini as well...great way to use up 1/2 bag of chopped and washed kale that I had to use. Also added some dried basil and oregano. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Very nice and unique soup. I was able to make it in a crockpot putting the kale and safforn in the last hour with very good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Spicy and packs a little heat! Made three "slight" changes. Used canned Great Northern beans, 1/2 tsp paprika and canned spinach instead of kale. I cook according to what I have on hand and what I got on sale at the grocery store. Looked up recipe for Andouille sausage, which I got at the grocers for 1.99 lb, and this recipe fit what was essentially in my cupboard and did not disappoint! Try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Kale wasn't available so I substituted baby spinich I am on a low fat low salt diet so I used Italian turkey sausage and salt free chicken stock. I followed everything else to recipe. It turned out wonderful. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was my first time cooking with kale. I couldn't pass it up at our local farmers market it looked so lovely. I had andouille in the freezer and had no idea what to do with it, or the kale for that matter, until I came across this recipe. So happy that I did. I didn't have any saffron so I left that out and I used canned beans because I didn't have any dry on hand nor did I have the time to soak them properly. I did add a bit more seasoning, mostly poultry seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, and powdered rosemary. I will make this again next time I buy kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great Recipe. I used spinach instead of kale and a sweet Italian sausage instead of andouille sausage. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Made this today and it's great. Another great recipe for those cold winter months. I cut down the cooking time by sauteeing the onion and bellpepper in the pot first, then adding the garlic. Then added 3 cans of beans (undrained), 1.5 cans water, 3 chicken bouillon cubes, seasonings, and the sausage. Brought to a boil, then simmer for about 20 mins. Added the kale for 10 more minutes. Very easy. I don't see the point of steps 1 and 2. They seem very time-consuming for little result. Just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Spanish Style White Bean & Sausage Soup Haiku: "Fail soup, I am sad. Directions flawed, but good taste. (But on the next day.)" I was mortified to serve this to company, only to find that the beans were still hard as pebbles. I followed the recipe, only simmering my beans for more like 3 hrs., and simmered the entire soup for an additional 2 hrs. I couldn't quite get the 1st step of, what? Boiling the andouille, only to brown it later? Also, it doesn't clarify as to when to return the saffron/broth to the pot, so I just did that while it was simmering. I was overjoyed at the thought of this recipe, as I leap for anything that calls for either saffron (treasured spice that I so rarely use) or andouille (so tasty!), and loved the idea of using kale in a soup. And speaking of calling it "soup" - no way, this definitely needed additional liquid, as others have mentioned in their reviews. Sooo, we boiled and re-simmered the soup last night, and made sandwiches, and I've just now sat down to a "real" bowl of the soup, and yes, it tastes fantastic - very unusual, spicy, and earthy. I hope to make it again, but will just use canned beans, and maybe dump everything, except the kale, in the crockpot to decrease the troublesome steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States