Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This recipe caught my attention immediately when figuring out what to do with quinoa. Instead of tomato sauce and peppers & onions, I put in a can of tomatoes & green chiles. At first I thought I'd put in waaay too much water (I didn't measure) but a little simmering and leaving the lid off helped. It was a little gluey, but the flavors were good. Next time I'll be more careful (hello measuring cup). I added a LOT more chili powder and 1/2 teaspoon jarred crushed garlic and chili garlic paste as well. Just the right amount of heat for me. I made burritos with vegetarian refried beans and some pepper jack cheese. Would be great with a little sour cream as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildomar, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
For the second time ever eating quinoa, I found this an exellent way to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was delicious. I did add a bit more seasonings for my tste, but the recipe is very good. I happened to have some extra ground turkey taco meat so added a little to the quinoa after it was cooked and a dollup of sour cream. Perfect for lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I also used this a filling for stuffed peppers. To keep with the spanish flavor I used enchilada sauce on the bottom of my baking dish and added 1 lb. of lean ground turkey to the mixture. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was great...I made stuffed peppers as suggested in the reviews. The only change was that I mixed in some shredded pepperjack cheese and half a can of corn right before stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is a great alternative to spanish rice. I added some frozen corn & black beans and a little salt and it was great. I'd also recommend simmering UNcovered for the last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Excellent and easy. Great side dish to any Mexican/Spanish meal. I also used canned diced tomatoes instead of tomatoes sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This recipe is excellent! I had to cook it a little longer than 30 minutes to cook all of the water out, but it had great flavor. I added a can of corn and one of black beans, filled some green peppers with it and baked them in the oven, covered in cheese. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is my first time cooking and eating quinoa. I thought the taste was wonderful with the suggested changes from other reviews (I tripled the spices), plus added about 1/4 tsp salt. And although the taste was great, it was a little mushy. I think next time I will decrease the water to 2 1/4 cup. Still, I think it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States