Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was very tasty. I didn't have any tomato sauce, so I used tomato paste. I had run out of chili powder too, so I substituted it with paprika and 1/4 tsp cayenne. For more flavour, I doubled the spices and seasoned with salt and pepper. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
very tasty, I used tomato paste instead of tomato sauce because that is all I had in the kitchen, and it turned out almost like a hearty chili. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This recipe caught my attention immediately when figuring out what to do with quinoa. Instead of tomato sauce and peppers & onions, I put in a can of tomatoes & green chiles. At first I thought I'd put in waaay too much water (I didn't measure) but a little simmering and leaving the lid off helped. It was a little gluey, but the flavors were good. Next time I'll be more careful (hello measuring cup). I added a LOT more chili powder and 1/2 teaspoon jarred crushed garlic and chili garlic paste as well. Just the right amount of heat for me. I made burritos with vegetarian refried beans and some pepper jack cheese. Would be great with a little sour cream as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildomar, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
For the second time ever eating quinoa, I found this an exellent way to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was delicious. I did add a bit more seasonings for my tste, but the recipe is very good. I happened to have some extra ground turkey taco meat so added a little to the quinoa after it was cooked and a dollup of sour cream. Perfect for lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I also used this a filling for stuffed peppers. To keep with the spanish flavor I used enchilada sauce on the bottom of my baking dish and added 1 lb. of lean ground turkey to the mixture. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was great...I made stuffed peppers as suggested in the reviews. The only change was that I mixed in some shredded pepperjack cheese and half a can of corn right before stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is a great alternative to spanish rice. I added some frozen corn & black beans and a little salt and it was great. I'd also recommend simmering UNcovered for the last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Excellent and easy. Great side dish to any Mexican/Spanish meal. I also used canned diced tomatoes instead of tomatoes sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States