Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I had only made quinoa once before for my family of five, and they weren't thrilled to try again. But this was great! My changes after reading reviews: I rinsed the quinoa, used olive oil for the sauté, and used red, green and yellow bell peppers with onions & garlic. I added a 7 oz. can of green chilis with the liquids. I used chicken stock instead of water and Pace Chunky Salsa Medium instead of tomato sauce. I offered grated cheddar cheese for topping, which the kids loved, but it didn't need it. HUGE hit all around. Thanks, Momi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
On many recipe reviews I read that people double or triple the seasonings/spices. Ground spices start to deteriorate as soon as they are ground. It may be the AGE of your spices that make the recipe bland, not necessarily the quantity the recipes asks for. Just be careful if using the advice of others to double or triple quantities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very good recipe, although I felt it needed a little something extra. I tripled up the spices and added some lime juice to taste, and that gave it a nice tangy kick. I also added black beans and corn. Roasted some bell peppers, stuffed them with this mix, and added some cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Fabulous Quinoa! I used beef stock, spicy Mexican tomato sauce, Cardamom pods and blanched broccoli added to the finished Quinoa. I always use less liquid to Quinoa to get a fluffier texture. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Photo by T. Rosen
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Wonderful recipe...so simple and easy to adjust to your own tastes. I added ground beef and mushrooms. This would be great (as others have indicated) as a filling for stuffed peppers or in burritos. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Rosen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Great flavors for quinoa! I added a bit of salt and extra chili powder. I also substited red pepper for the green pepper since I didn't have. The red pepper was ok, but it would better with the green called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This recipe turned out to be very yummy. I added cilantro, cabbage, a pinch of chili flakes and left over lobster meat. I like my food a bit saucy so i added a bit more tomato sauce. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
If you like it spicy double the spices! I wish it didn't take so long to cook too! We would make this again but would add more punch to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was quite tasty. I nice alternative to rice. Even my 18 month old son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I tried this recipe yesterday evening. It was the first time I cooked quinoa. I loved it, its flavourful and delicious with the tomato sauce. I threw in some leftover grilled vegetables (zucchini, eggplant, tomatoes, onions and peppers) and it was made a wholesome, healthy meal. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States