Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
So I created a login account just to rate this recipe! I thought it was well worth it! I've been trying to find more glycemic friendly recipes and quinoa is great. But this recipe? This outdoes anything I've tried so far! FANTASTIC! I did make my own revisions as most people do. Didn't have a green bell pepper so skipped it. I always use green onions with white onions. I added a bit more cumin and put in some tumeric as well. Added a bit of basil and used both diced tomatoes (undrained) as well as tomato sauce. YUMMY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I prepare this meal for my 14th month old. To boost the protein even more, I add garbanzo or kidney beans. She loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
So good! And good for you too! What a great alternative to spanish rice, and it tastes just as good if not better because with the quinoa you get that crunchy texture and nutty flavor. Toasting the quinoa prior to adding the liquid is essential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Very good and healthy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This is the only vegetarian meal my 8 year old will eat. I add zucchini and squash to make it more hearty. It is absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This recipe was not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valentinesdaybaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This recipe is so delicious!!! We added some Swiss chard & made into burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was excellent! I followed the recipe as is except I had to cook it for 40 minutes till the liquid was absorbed and the quinoa was tender. This is a definite repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I TOO DOUBLED THE SPICE, THEN ADDED A DICED JALAPENO AND A CAN OF GARBANZO BEANS....VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
So good! I've made this recipe at least 5 times. The quinoa is always a little bit more watery than I'm used to, but the flavor makes up for it, though I always add more spices. I also add corn kernels and a bean, like garbanzos, to make this a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohnooto

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States