Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Super tasty! I'm always looking for different, yet easy dishes, and this was a hit with my hubby & toddler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The recipe was good, but I added black beans, a bit of salsa, and used it to stuff peppers. Those changes helped, it would have been slightly bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I thought this was fabulous. I had a little fresh tomato I needed to use up, so I diced and added it. My "boys" said it is a keeper...which is the fist quinoa dish they have said that about. While I like the recipe as is very much, I think it will also become a "base" for many other dishes to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I haven't tried this yet but it sounds great. I only gave it stars because the system wouldn't let me post this question without them. I've tired quinoa before but just haven't liked it. This seems like it could be different from the other recipes I've tried. The thing is I want to try it with ground beef or chicken. Anybody have any suggestions for how I can incorporate it into the recipe? Should I cook the meat first and then add the quinoa or should I add the ground beef or chicken at the end?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was my first experience cooking quinoa. I made it to go with "Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos." I also made "Refried Beans without the Refry," but I did black beans and cooked them on the stove top (did not mash). I had all this wonderful spiced bean broth left over, so I used 1 1/2 cups of bean broth and 1 c. water in the quinoa. The flavor was excellent and I can see myself cooking a lot of quinoa in the future, as I really enjoyed the texture and pretty much everything about it. However, I found 2 1/2 c. liquid to be WAAAY too much. After 40+ minutes of simmering, there was still a LOT of liquid, and the quinoa was tender. I didn't want it to get mushy, so I drained it through a fine mesh sieve, then reheated it over med-high heat for a few minutes just to evaporate some of that leftover moisture. I don't know if this was caused by my use of bean broth, or if there really was just too much liquid. Either way, next time I'll try 2 c. liquid and see how that fares. Otherwise wonderful and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Love this recipe!! I added some rotisserie chicken and it was outstanding as a meal. Thanks for sharing - It will be one of my go to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I am always looking for new quinoa recipes and this was was fabulous! (A friend and I am eating some right now). The only negative thing I can say is that it was a lil bit bland, so I added salt & pepper and it was perfect! Another review suggested double the spice recipe & using veg broth so I will try these ideas next time :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was just "ok" for us. We are big fans of spanish style rice and other foods, and this had a similar taste. Our issue was with it being pretty bland, even after doubling the spices. I felt the depth of flavors wasn't all the way there. I will possibly make this again, with a bunch of changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was very tasty! I didn't have green pepper so I just omitted it, added extra onion instead and it was still delish! I also just used taco seasoning instead of the separate seasonings, and added a bit more garlic salt and some cajun seasoning. A great alternative to rice, it was fantastic in a tortilla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TorensMom2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Yum! I've been an AllRecipes member for years and this is the first time I've been inclined to write a review! What a delicious and healthy substitute for spanish rice. I disagree with other reviews who have said this dish cannot stand on its own as a side - we had it with tacos and thought it was fabulous! My boyfriend couldn't say enough good things - he can't wait for his brothers to try it (one of whom is a chef that owns a successful local restaurant)! I did change a few minor things based on what I had and other reviews. 1) I thought I had some fresh garlic at home, but was mistaken, so had to use garlic powder. I added quite a bit (I rarely measure powders) to the quinoa/pepper/onion mix and did not add it again with the fluids. 2) I used olive oil in place of vegetable oil. 3) I used about a 1/2 cup of Newman's Own salsa in place of the tomato sauce to add a bit more substance. 3) I hate using water when I could use something else with more flavor, so I used about 2 cups of chicken stock and 1/2 cup water, then added a "Tomato with Chicken" bouillon cube (found in Mexican section of your grocer). 5) Lastly, I couldn't find any cumin, so just left it out! I know that seems like a lot of changes, but the base recipe is great!! Definitely a new favorite dish... I even used some in place of meat in one of my tacos! Can't wait for the leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States