Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I've made this several time and it's always a crowd favorite. I add a lot more seasoning than suggested, but that's a personal preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Husband & I loved it! I left out the bell pepper though- we don't cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My entire family liked this! A nice alternative to rice, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was a great recipe but I agree with many other reviews that it needed more of the spices. I doubled almost all the spices and I used a can of chopped tomatoes and less water to make it a bit quicker. I also served in in the green pepper. The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelneben

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I have never had spanish rice before (I know I must have lived under a rock all these years lol) so I'm unable to say whether or not it is a great variation of that dish. However I can attest that my taste buds were thrilled with the final product and my beau who ate spanish rice growing up as a child thought it was delicious. I keep cooked quinoa in the fridge so that I can just pull it out whenever I need it for a recipe (I consume a lot of quinoa, so I prepare a fresh batch weekly) so I just used two cups from what I already had. I sauteed the onion, garlic and bell peppers in olive oil in a saucepan, added in the cooked quinoa and heated it for a few minutes, followed by 1/2 cup of vegetable broth, then I seasoned the mixture with smoked paprika, cayenne pepper, kosher salt, garlic powder and my homemade taco seasoning. After the mixture tasted like I desired I then added tomato sauce (I eyeballed it) just added enough to give it color and then I turned my heat to low and simmered for 30 minutes...it came out very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Hubby and I thought this recipe was delicious! I did change a few things though. I used a 15oz can of tomato sauce and a can filled with water instead of the recommended water and sauce. the next time I make this I will take the advice of others and double up on the spices :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I followed everyone's advice and tripled the amount of spices and reduced the amount of broth to 2 1/4 cups. And since I didn't have tomato sauce, I used Bertolli pasta sauce. Came out great with the edits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. My own spanish rice recipe is very close to this, so I used it with quinoa instead of rice. I don't use onions or peppers (like kids, I am also very picky) and also prefer mild to spicy, so this is exactly what I needed to go with my Taco Ring recipe last night. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe and I plan to make it again. Due to other reviews and personal preference, I did add more spice. The first night, I used it as a filling for a stuffed pepper. Yummy! I had a lot left over (cooking for one, here), so I decided to add some cooked frozen corn and rinsed black beans to create a burrito filling. I put about 1/4 cup of filling into 10" wheat tortillas. I just re-heated the first burrito last night (after being frozen for 1.5 weeks) on high for 45 seconds per side, served with Greek yogurt, and had a delicious dinner! This turned out to be a very economical recipe for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenrain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
my daughter made this recipe as a side dish and it was delicious. Even better the next day she used it in a wrap with a little sour cream, salsa, fresh spinach leaves and sliced pickled jalepenos.....it was a fabulous lunch sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States