Spanish-Style Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
What a treat.. Im a new cook but knew enough to use Chicken Broth instead of water. I also added Cayenne Pepper along with the Flakes and used Polish Kielbasa instead of the sausage in the recipe. This is an amazing dish full of flavor (dont know how other reviewers didnt get the kick.. maybe it was my Cayenne pepper addition) For me it was spicy and the vegetables were nice and firm and not soggy. Cant wait for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Great recipe - added a little datil pepper sauce and doubled chicken and chorizo, but otherwise followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This stew is absolutely amazing! Served over white rice, with a glass of red wine you'd think your at a 5 star restaurant - when really your in the comfort of your own home! First off, I added way more garlic than suggested (clearly I'm Garlic's biggest fan). Secondly, depending on your serving amount I would substitute a cup of water for a cup of chicken broth. OR you can also use the entire suggested amount of water and add a Bouillon cube of chicken broth(which ever rocks your boat). And if you like spicy food DO add the red pepper flakes in ADDITION to a dab of Cayenne Pepper. I promise, you will have yourself, family, and friends yearning for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I have made this dish 5 times and i love it. I tweaked it a bit like most people do but tried to stay true to the recipe. I put in more carrots & potatos, i also add 1 sweet potato, I use 5-6 cloves of garlic and double the amount of red pepper flakes and paprika. I also use chicken breast instead of thighs and i dont put it in the oven (dosent thicken much). With those changes this is a fall/winter FAVORITE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This recipe was really good except the gravy was thin. After reading the reviews, I too altered the recipe using 1 onion instead of 3, chicken broth instead of water and for extra zip, I used Rotelle instead of plum tomoatoes. I also served this dish with white rice, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Loved this recipe! It is different from anything that I usually make. I am always trying to find new recipes to try. I could not find spanish chorizo at my supermarket so I bought a spicy Andouille sausage, it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Used chicken broth and put it all in my slow cooker and cooked all day about 8 hrs. yummy tender :-) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rlcam30
Home Town: Devine, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Scrummy! I loved this spicy and hearty stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This is a great stew. Spicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Very rich and tasteful. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States