Spanish-Style Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This stew was so good; however I think that if it was served with rice it would taste even better. If you don't like spicy food, then you may want to cut back on the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Spicy!!! Like the chickpeas - very Spanish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumsy'sCouchPotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
What a treat.. Im a new cook but knew enough to use Chicken Broth instead of water. I also added Cayenne Pepper along with the Flakes and used Polish Kielbasa instead of the sausage in the recipe. This is an amazing dish full of flavor (dont know how other reviewers didnt get the kick.. maybe it was my Cayenne pepper addition) For me it was spicy and the vegetables were nice and firm and not soggy. Cant wait for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was pretty good stew. I used 1.5 onions instead of 3. I only had ground chorizo, so I cooked it first and added with the chicken. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs which seemed to get lost. Notes for next time - double the chorizo and chicken and more carrots. Serve with crusty bread to absorb the juice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Loved this recipe! It is different from anything that I usually make. I am always trying to find new recipes to try. I could not find spanish chorizo at my supermarket so I bought a spicy Andouille sausage, it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I have made this dish 5 times and i love it. I tweaked it a bit like most people do but tried to stay true to the recipe. I put in more carrots & potatos, i also add 1 sweet potato, I use 5-6 cloves of garlic and double the amount of red pepper flakes and paprika. I also use chicken breast instead of thighs and i dont put it in the oven (dosent thicken much). With those changes this is a fall/winter FAVORITE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Apart from using Andouille sausage (I wasn't paying attention when I took the package out of the freezer), I pretty much made this as written. It turned out way better than I expected! Husband picked out the potato, but he isn't a spud fan anyway. I wasn't too sure about the carrot, but it worked really well. I served it with some buttermilk biscuits to soak up the sauce. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was a nice, hearty stew. I used chicken broth instead of water and added a little chili powder and cumin for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This is a great stew. Spicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Scrummy! I loved this spicy and hearty stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States