Spanish-Style Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Loved this recipe! It is different from anything that I usually make. I am always trying to find new recipes to try. I could not find spanish chorizo at my supermarket so I bought a spicy Andouille sausage, it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I have made this dish 5 times and i love it. I tweaked it a bit like most people do but tried to stay true to the recipe. I put in more carrots & potatos, i also add 1 sweet potato, I use 5-6 cloves of garlic and double the amount of red pepper flakes and paprika. I also use chicken breast instead of thighs and i dont put it in the oven (dosent thicken much). With those changes this is a fall/winter FAVORITE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was different, but good. It def tasted better the next night (as most things do). Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The flavours were nice. I used water as per the recipe and not broth or stock as some reviewers have suggested, and the flavours were vibrant and fresh. I did not find it as labor-intensive as one reviewer, perhaps because I didn't bother removing the casing from the chorizo and I left everything in the same (oven-proof) pan, so there was no need to take out the chicken or dirty another dish. I'm giving only 3 stars because although it was good, it wasn't mind-blowing, and frankly, we just found it kind of a pain to eat. You really need a fork, knife, and spoon to manage it. Oh--it would be helpful if the recipe stated whether or not to drain the chickpeas (garbanzos). I sort of drained them, but left some liquid in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
We had this over rice. It was very flavorful and one of the top dishes I've made from this site. Unfortunately, it wasn't as spicy as I expected. Actually, it wasn't spicy at all.. ( i love spicy) I even added extra red pepper.. I will try again and adjust the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
What a treat.. Im a new cook but knew enough to use Chicken Broth instead of water. I also added Cayenne Pepper along with the Flakes and used Polish Kielbasa instead of the sausage in the recipe. This is an amazing dish full of flavor (dont know how other reviewers didnt get the kick.. maybe it was my Cayenne pepper addition) For me it was spicy and the vegetables were nice and firm and not soggy. Cant wait for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Either I did something wrong or this recipe had very little flavor. The flavor is not there and even though I cooked it longer than it said, both on the stove and in the oven, it never thickened. It remained like a broth. There is nothing in it to thicken it. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Apart from using Andouille sausage (I wasn't paying attention when I took the package out of the freezer), I pretty much made this as written. It turned out way better than I expected! Husband picked out the potato, but he isn't a spud fan anyway. I wasn't too sure about the carrot, but it worked really well. I served it with some buttermilk biscuits to soak up the sauce. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was a nice, hearty stew. I used chicken broth instead of water and added a little chili powder and cumin for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Tastes okay but seem to be lacking something I can't put my finger on. Hubby prefer Harvest Chicken Stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States