Spanish Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I didn't really expect this to be good because I'm not a big fan of squash, but it was delicious! As suggested in other reviews, I sauteed the onion and minced garlic with the beef, then added the squash, tomatoes, and spices. I doubled the spices and it really could have used even more but that's because I like really spicy food. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This greatly exceeded my expectations. I thought it would be "ok" but it was excellent. We had just made some fresh Mexican sausage so we used the sausage and cut the ground meat and spices. We used the dish as a side dish, but it could be a main course. I'm taking this to our next "covered dish" get together. (Orosi Valley, Costa Rica)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OROSI RILEY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was very easy. I sautéed the squash and onions with the ground beef as someone else had suggested. I had some extra fresh spinach in the house, so I put that in there as well. I did increase the spices as had been suggested, but I thought it could have used more. A little extra salt helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Pretty good. Mixed in garlic with the squash and onions and served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe, but I think it would have been bland had I not doubled both the chili powder and cumin and used diced tomatoes w/ green chilis in place of regular diced tomatoes. I sauteed the onions with the beef, then added the squash and other remaining ingredients and simmered for 30 minutes. I would make this again with these tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LA ESPOSA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was very good, but would have been far too bland without adding extra spices. I doubled the chili powder and cumin, and I added about 1/2 tsp. thyme and lots of fresh, minced garlic. I used vegetable broth in place of the water. Still, with bumping up the spice, my husband and I added some crushed red pepper at the table. I will definitely make this again when I have extra squash to use. I may try it with sausage instead of ground beef, which would make it less bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Great over rice, with a sprinkle of hot sauce, and a dallop of sour cream! Really enjoyed it but will probably season the meat while cooking it next time instead of following the directions to the letter. There will be a next time though. Great weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Very tasty! Served on brown rice with guacamole, diced tomatoes and cheese on top and tortilla chips on the side. Everyone in the family liked it even the picky non-veggie eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Loved this, didn't use the cumin added garlic salt. Was better next day when all the flavors mingled together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Calabacitas! Great recipe! I changed the amount of spices a bit and used about 1 tbsp minced garlic, 2 tsp chili powder and a heaping teaspoon of cumin (love the spices). When I simmered everything for 30 minutes, I added a Serrano pepper which I cut in half and let simmer with everything else for an added kick. Served over Jasmin rice. The family loved it. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States