Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I was looking for a use for some leftover stewed tomatoes and found this recipe. I served it as a side for some basic chicken breasts. I had never had or made Spanish rice before, but it turned out pretty well. I used brown rice and red bell pepper instead of green, since that was all I had at the time. It think I added a tiny bit too much water, so I would be more careful next time. If I do make this again, I will be sure to add a lot more spice. The tomatoes give it a mild flavour, but my boyfriend and I both like very flavourful foods and this was quite bland on its own. I do like the base recipe, but I suggest customizing it with whatever spices you prefer. I will add that this is a big recipe. I cut the ingredients in half, what I thought would be enough for supper for two and a little left over. We both had a good sized portion and there's much more left than I expected. Update: Used this the next day in a wrap with some baby spinach, chicken, salsa, and barbecue sauce. It was delicious! Will make this again as a filling for burritos or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This was a great recipe that unlike most people here I didn't think it needed any additional spice since this a side dish. So, I enjoy eating spicy food, so that's what my main dishes typically are, but like having something a bit more bland for my side dish, so this Spanish rice is perfect for me & it has plenty of flavor despite the lack of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
was easy to make, tasted good, made a good side dish for chicken tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I would add some fresh garlic, and a tablespoon of tomato paste and a cup of frozen green peas and simmer it for twenty minutes and add some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
cut rice in half, used 1 can stewed tomatoes with green chiles, covered mixture with chicken broth. Otherwise, followed recipe and directions. Daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemmon, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I loved this recipe! I added some diced tomatoes, chilly powder and coriander powder to get some flavor and I loved the outcome! Delicious! And it took around half an hour to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was a good jumping off recipe where flavors are concerned. What interested me the most was the method of cooking the rice. I used veggie broth, added much more seasonings, substituted 2 cans of mild green chili for the green pepper and instead of tomatoes I used tomato sauce. Perhaps these changes had something to do with the fact that it took the 15 minute cook/15 minute rest twice before my rice was cooked through? I had the rice for breakfast this morning and it was delicious again :) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SH0NI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
ditto. good base then added my own personal touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I make this atleast twice a week.The only thing i changed was i added garlic and a little more onion.Great recipe the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Howland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
first time trying a Spanish rice. Rave reviews from the family. Follow the instructions not to lift cover until time. Really great food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States