Spanish Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
WITH THE SIMPLE INGREDIENTS AND HAVING EVERYTHING ON HAND, THIS RECIPE TURNED OUT NOT AS GOOD AS I HAD HOPED............WILL NOT MAKE AGAIN. MY FAMILY DIDN'T CARE FOR IT AT ALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
excellent. Used hamburger, and chili-style tomatoes. Secret ingredient? Add a packet of Ranch dressing powder. Amazing and so quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This is an interesting tasting soup that is VERY quick and easy to make. I followed the recommendation of another reviewer and substituted worshteshire for hot sauce. The worshteshire 'enhances' the flavor and gives the soup more depth. Also, I used 1/2 hamburger and 1/2 ground pork as too much beef sometimes upset my stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I was surprised at how great this soup turned out. Instead of using tomato sauce I used Picante sauce and added an extra clove of garlic. It was spicy and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Good soup. Very easy to make. Was a tiny bit bland for my taste so I added extra garlic, some cumin, some cilantro and a little salt. I also added a cup of frozen corn for color. Served with corn bread muffins. Also nice garnished with a sprinkle of cheese, dallop of sour cream and a cillantro leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELASEELY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvarado, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was delicious and a great way to use leftover brown rice, a quart of tomato juice, and a pound of ground turkey that I had on hand. The quart of tomato juice was substituted for all the tomatoes, tomato sauce, and water. I added a rib of celery finely chopped and probably a tablespoon of cumin. Cumin makes this dish delicious -- it reminded us both of the flavor of a Taco Bell burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Sometimes the recipes with the simple ingredients are the best and this is one of those. I love to cook but sometimes a quick meal is so nice! My husband picked this out and its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittenmarie1001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This recipe looked so easy and so I decided to give it a try. I don't think I had the right Spanish-style rice mix (maybe I'll try rice-a-roni) next time. I used Uncle Ben's Spanish Style ready rice, and it wasn't seasoned that much. Then instead of using the Mexican-style stewed tomatoes I used fire roasted diced tomatoes that I had on hand. I decided to taste it and it was a bit bland. I decided to add 1 tea. black pepper, and 1/2 tea. cumin, and 1/2 cup Pace Medium Picante Sauce. This is a great start for a soup, but next time I think I am going to add some more ingredients like maybe some green chili or jalapeno's. I may even try what some of the other reviewers added. Thanks for the easy making starter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I'm vegetarian so I made a meat free version of this. I'v made it with fake spiced vegie meat and without meat using sunflower seeds. My meateating family even loved it. I did add some more mexican spices and jalapeno peppers to give it some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Made this on a chilly fall day with leftover turkey drumstick from Allrecipes spiced it with lime chili powder, cilantra and mixed pepper spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Point Pleasant, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States