Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is the best recipe I've found for this traditional Mexican rice. We have a home in Mexico and this tastes like the real deal. I kept to the recipe exactly but just left out the corn. Very, very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is a good recipe if you want something basic, but it needs some jazzing up. I omitted half the onions (they were pretty big), green bell pepper, corn, and olives out of personal preference. Added one diced and seeded jalapeno pepper (could have gone for two), 3-4 T chili powder, and about 1 t powdered garlic. To make it a complete meal, I browned 1 lb ground beef with the onions, rice, and jalapeno pepper. I agree with other reviewers that the rice could use a little more liquid, as the rice was a bit on the firm side. 3 starts without changes, 4 stars after making some adjustments. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Best spanish rice Ive ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wynter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is a great recipe. I omitted the olives (just not a fan) but didn't change anything else and it was fantastic! Will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poltzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Lovely recipe, even with out the bacon....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Mmmm, Delicious.. reminds me of the dinners we've eaten in the little shops outside of Mazatlan!!! Such an easy recipe too. The only changes I made ~ used Mexican Style Chili Powder(hot) , added some Cumin & a diced Jalapeno Pepper. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I thought this was fantastic! I didn't have all of the ingredients, so I made do with what I had. I didn't have, so I left out, the bacon. And I only had red and orange peppers instead of green. I will make this again. Plus without the bacon, you have a lot fewer calories and fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAHLIA0801

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was very good! However, I changed it a bit to suit my taste. I doubled the recipe, but only used 6 slices of bacon I chopped the bacon up first, then cooked it, used (1) 28 oz. big can of diced tomatoes with its juice, add 3 gloves of finely chopped fresh garlic, a teaspoon of cumin, and bit more chili powder, and then followed, the reviewer; suthernswttatergal suggestion on her how her mother makes the dish. I still give credit to the orginal submiter of this recipe without DEED330, suthernswttatergal would have never been able to leave a review nor I. So, think you, DEED330 and suthernswttatergal for the recipe! It was awesome, I made it today with Jerk Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was soo good. I made a few changes but mainly stayed with the original recipe. I put only one tomato in and 1/2 bell pepper. (I am not partial to bell pepper.) I had to use almost 30 oz. of chicken broth. The rice absorb like crazy. I also put more tomato sauce than what it called for. And I hate to chopped onions, sensitive eyes and all. So i just added 2 tbsps of minced dried onion. This was amazing, will definaeky make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shweetpotato
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Delicious, I didnt use bacon but did use bacon fat for the oil, I left out the corn and olives and didnt have the green pepper but next time I will add some green pepper for sure. A little spicy which I loved, it was gone really quick :) great recipe and easy too. I did have to add in extra chicken broth as the rice was sticking to the bottom of the pan and it wasnt done yet but it turned out great. I will make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shweetpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States