Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very yummy rice. I will make it again, I want to try roasted tomatoes in the mix and see what that will do for this already delicious side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
great recipe, We had mexican food for christmas at my dad's and I followed directions for the most part and was a yummy spanish rice!!!!! Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsmith72
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I have had better, but this is a tasty dish. I didn't add the green peppers, but I followed the rest of the recipe to the T...and it was good. I did add 3/4 cup of water towards the end and ended up with mushy rice. I will try this one again and see if I can get it more fluffy next time...any suggestions besides omitting the extra water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsmith72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
EXCELLENT! I've made this a couple of times already (sometimes leaving out the corn) & am never let down! My dinner guests loved it as well! Definitely a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Best Spanish Rice dish I have made. I was heavy-handed with the chili powder and I did have to add more chicken broth toward the end of cooking (I believe that has more to do with my pot than the fault of the recipe). I had two Roma tomatoes, but they weren't that good being out of season. Next time I'll just use canned, diced tomatoes. I like things hot and spicy, but it's good a side dish like this is more neutral to show off the main element. If I was making this as a main dish I would add hot peppers and/or hot sauce. My new favorite Spanish Rice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
best spanish rice i've ever made! Loved the bacon element. I made a couple changes to suit my tastes. I only used 2 slices of bacon and drained most of the grease off for health reasons. It still had a really good smokey flavor that made the dish. The bacon makes the dish!I also added 1 can chopped green chilis instead of green bell peppers. I did not use the optional ingredients. Will be my go to recipe for spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was ok. It tasted more like pasta in a tomato sauce...not at all like the spanish rice I was expecting. I will keep looking. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Best I have ever made! I even used instant rice and it still turned out great! Just the right amount of kick and the texture is fabulous and everything is better with bacon, right? The second time I made it, I added 1 lb. of cooked ground beef and came up with an easy one-pan main dish meal. Serve it with corn cakes or warm tortillas. NOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Skipped the bacon, using EVOO to sweat the onions, and replaced one of the green peppers with a red one. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was pretty awesome. It was my first attempt at a real rice dish and I was extremely pleased that the rice came out as tender as I'd expect from a restaurant. The bacon flavor was a bit much. I think next time I will use a bit more tomato and a bit less bacon. Don't get me wrong though, the flavor was excellent, if not quite what I would have expected from a spanish rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Algus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States