Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
A wonderful side for my chicken enchilada dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Very good. I did make some changes: used 2 14 ox cans of fire roasted tomatoes instead of 2 tomatoes. 1.5 cups of rice.. didn't want to leave a 1/2 cup rice in the package. omitted the olives and corn ( didn't have them, optional anyway) This was a big hit. the rich flavor is what makes this rice good. It is not so much a prominent bacon flavor, but a round savory flavor. do not omit. This will be going into the rotation. It made quite a lot, but the 2 year old loved it as well as the hubby so WINNING! Next time I will add the olives but I am not sure ab0out the corn...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Really liked this...didn't add the corn or the black olives. I also sauted the green peppers with the onions...VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by cornelia_sltz
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I do it often.It is good,fast and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cornelia_sltz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe even though 30-40 minutes for white rice that normally cooks in 15 minutes sounded like it would make the rice soft and gooey. Well it does! There also doesn't need to be more than 2 total cups of liquid. If you've heated your liquids, and sauteed the veggies, then it's warm when you put it together, so for heaven's sake check it when it's been on the stove 15 minutes. I also had to double the chili powder because it was so flavorless from the overcooking and too much liquid. I used it in a fritatta this morning and the egg and cheese made it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was amazing! I didn't have fresh tomatoes on hand so I drained a can of chopped tomatoes and added that instead. I also didn't have any chicken broth in the pantry so I braised some chicken breasts and set them aside and used the liquid in place of the broth. The rest of the recipe I followed to the "T" only I chopped up the chicken breasts and tossed those in at the end when I added the corn and olives in. This is an authentic Spanish Rice recipe and I'm sure it's also perfect as written. Thank you so much, Deed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was very delicious. I doubled the recipe. I didn't add the bacon. We're Jews, we don't eat bacon. I used brown rice instead of white and didn't change anything and it turned out very well, maybe cooked a little bit longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very yummy. I used a can of southwest style chopped tomatoes instead of the plain chopped tomatoes. I also left out the bell peppers and olives because of personal preference. I also added some cumin. I'll probably add some garlic and possibly some diced potatoes next time I make this. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I would suggest 1/2 cup tomato sauce and 1 1/2 cups chicken broth. It does take longer than plain rice to cook. I used bell peppers, onion and shredded carrots as a saute base. Didn't want corn or black olives in mine. Kept is simple. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is the best Spanish rice I have ever ate, and I don't like the rice you get in Mexican resturants. This will certainly stay in my Recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States