Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I tryed this and decided that I liked my moms better. This is very close to my mom's recipe with a few verations. First my mom does not use chic stock, corn, or olives. She cooks bacon in large cast iron skillet. leaves all grease in it and adds onions, grn peppers, fresh minced garlic, and rice to skillet and cooks for about 7-10 minutes. then she puts in two cans of tomotoes, crushed slightly by hand, and juice also and a little water to just cover rice good. brings to a boil, reduces heat to med-low and put lid on for 10 mins. She adds a bit of water as needed and finishes rice without the lid. The rice is fluffy and moist, having absorbed liquids. You do not want to have this too wet. bacon is broken up and mixed in. My mom serves this with fried chicken,and refried beans with melted cheese. Yummy! But I also serve this with shreded pork/or chicken tacos, anything that is mexican!My moms version came from a friend that grew up in Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was a very good side dish. I followed the recipe except for one thing: I didn't have green peppers, so I did as another reviewer suggested, I used diced green chiles (I put the entire 4 ounce can in). It was great and we decided to always use this one substitution. I had to add a bit more liquid as the rice cooked...ended up using an entire 14 oz can chicken broth and 15 oz can tomato sauce. Had this with Salsa Chicken, also from this site, and it made a great meal. Thank you for the recipe, DivaDee!! We will be making this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Very good recipe - if you're wondering if you should use the bacon or not, I would recommend you do. The flavor wasn't overpowering, but it is important to make this dish flavorful and smoky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Fantastic side dish to the 'Chicken Enchiladas V' on this site. Rice turned out fluffy, not soggy, and had great flavor and color. I substituted 1/2 can of diced green chiles for the bell pepper because I didn't have a pepper and skipped the olives and corn. Also chopped the bacon prior to frying to ease preparation. It tasted wonderful! Will definitely keep this recipe around for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This rice was wonderful!! I didn't change anything I was real impressed how it turned out. And don't forget, once you put the lid on your rice- don't mess with it until the time is up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnieK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
this is a terrific recipe! i used 4 thick slices of slab bacon (draining off about half the grease), jasmine rice, 4 roma tomatoes, 1 large onion & 1 large bell pepper. the kernel corn works very well here & adds bright color to this dish. i love black olives but omitted them in effort not to distract from the other flavors. we served this rice with salsa chicken (also from this website). thanks diva dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Wow! What a delicious dish! I didn't change anything about the recipe. It passed the "kid test" but not by a majority (1 of 3 enjoyed it and got 2nds) The next time I make it, I'll use less of the bacon grease. Also, to me, it seemed a slightly bit too acidic. Though that may have been due to the tomatoes (we used produce from our garden)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was pretty good. Nice flavor though a little salty. Definitely don't need to ADD salt to this one...I added some diced chicken to make it a one pot meal. I liked it with shredded cheese and sour cream on top. Mmmm... Oh-- and I used brown rice so it took FOREVER to get done but it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I used 4 slices of bacon, one pepper, one onion, and none of the optional ingredients. This is a great recipe. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Very good, very easy and very suprised at how easy making something that tasted so authentic was. Thank you for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States