Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
OH MY GOODNESS...This is awesome!!! I have made this three times and there was never once leftovers. My husband (who is cuban) begs for this at least once a week!!! He swears it is better than his grandmother's rice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEED330

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This is the BEST spanish rice I have tasted!! My family of 6 (4 are elementary age) loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
Very tasty dish!!! The only thing I did different is I added 1 large onion, & 1 large green pepper rather than the 2 the recipe called for. Thanks DivaDee for recipe, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Fantastic side dish to the 'Chicken Enchiladas V' on this site. Rice turned out fluffy, not soggy, and had great flavor and color. I substituted 1/2 can of diced green chiles for the bell pepper because I didn't have a pepper and skipped the olives and corn. Also chopped the bacon prior to frying to ease preparation. It tasted wonderful! Will definitely keep this recipe around for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
WOW! This was tooooooo goooooood!. Everyone loved it!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anderswin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
This is the best Spanish rice that I have ever tasted! My kids even loved it! They don't care for green peppers, but I just cut them in big enough pieces for them to easily be picked out. Thank you for the wonderful recipe! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Pretty good, but not what I expected for a Spanish Rice recipe. The bacon taste is on the over-powering side. Maybe if I left the bacon out or used less I would like it better, but I will probably not try the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Excellent!! Everyone loved this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Hess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I quadrupled this recipe for a Cinco de Mayo dinner last night, and unfortunately I didn't have any left over to bring home. However, for best results, I don't think I would go higher than doubling this the next time, even if I had to make two double batches. The rice didn't cook as well, and as you can imagine with that much rice, took forever to simmer. Having said that, this was truly wonderful. I added the sliced black olives and used frozen corn. The only change I made was for personal taste, and added some garlic and a small amount of crushed red peppers....then I threw away my old Spanish rice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe! My husband is allergic to green peppers so I omitted those, and it was still wonderful. The perfect side dish to any Mexican feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States