Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I made a few changes to this recipe since my intent was to use it to stuff bell peppers with. I browned the onions and bacon together then added the corn and tomato so the flavors mingled a bit. I then used chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper as my seasonings before adding in the chicken stock and rice. Once the rice was done I stuffed it into the bell peppers, topped with tomato sauce and cheese and baked it for 30 min at 375 to cook the bell pepper. My husband enjoyed it immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaBello

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
4 stars because changed a little. Husband loved it and he doesn't care for rice. Told me to write down what I did so I could do it again. So here it is. In 3 qt pot browned the bacon, took out drained. In bacon fat cooked 1 onion, 1/ 4 yellow, green and hot peppers. 1 clove garlic. 2 tbls fresh cilentro for around 10 min. Added 1 large can whole tomatoes broken up w/ juice & 1/2 cup ckn broth. 1 tsp chili powder, S&P. added bacon. Cooked uncovered till rice cooked. topped with mexican, taco or cheddar cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
easiest and best ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is delicious! It went great with the steak fajitas I made with it. I used a whole 15 oz can of chicken broth and only one green pepper and one large vidalia onion, and it was perfect! Be careful that your rice doesn't burn when you are simmering it. I had to keep stirring it so the bottom layer of rice wouldn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is the best! I did add a Tablespoon of cumin and a tablespoon of garlic powder to mine but this was great! It's the closest I can come to my sisters recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Way better than out of a box !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I also followed suthernswttatergal's suggestions. It doesn't take 40 minutes for this to cook. I did use the broth and I didn't have any bell peppers so I used 2 cans of Rotel and chile seasoning for my spice. Everybody loved this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrylynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Excellent. Very time consuming, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
My fiance hates anything but red rice in his Spanish Rice, so I did not add the bacon, onion, tomatoes, or peppers but this rice tasted awesome anyway!!! This recipe is a total keeper. Thank you DEED330!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Loved it! It's like the spanish rice that my Mom would make when I was growing up. I did have to add an extra cup of chicken broth. I made this with chicken enchiladas and it was a wonderful pairing, but it can go with so many dishes! Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States