Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was pretty awesome. It was my first attempt at a real rice dish and I was extremely pleased that the rice came out as tender as I'd expect from a restaurant. The bacon flavor was a bit much. I think next time I will use a bit more tomato and a bit less bacon. Don't get me wrong though, the flavor was excellent, if not quite what I would have expected from a spanish rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Algus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I have made this several times now and it is always a big hit. One extra thing I like to add is a dash of ancho chili powder to give it a little more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe!!! i made it for 20 ppl. only used 3 bell peppers, one large yellow onionone 10 oz can of corn and 1 10 oz can of olive and it was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Iron Chef
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This is such a great recipe! I have made this a couple of times and continue to make it. I pair it up with Taqueria Style Tacos-Carne Asada on this site. I made it just as the recipe calls except for adding corn. I am thinking about taking other reviewers suggestion and add a can of green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iron Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
soooooo great!!!! The only thing I changed was......I used brown rice instead of white. I also added ground turkey at the very end. I wanted to cook something different..............WHAT A HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
YUM! I left out the bacon and didn't use olives or corn. We loved it. Served it to the toddler with shredded cheddar on top, and he was sold. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Goree Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Easy enough recipe to follow. I ended up adding another 1/2 C of chicken broth to rice as it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Loved it! The only think I didn't add were the olives because I didn't have any, but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I used brown rice and added vegetable protein to make a complete meal. I too found it a bit too salty, but otherwise a tasty dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I made a few changes to this recipe since my intent was to use it to stuff bell peppers with. I browned the onions and bacon together then added the corn and tomato so the flavors mingled a bit. I then used chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper as my seasonings before adding in the chicken stock and rice. Once the rice was done I stuffed it into the bell peppers, topped with tomato sauce and cheese and baked it for 30 min at 375 to cook the bell pepper. My husband enjoyed it immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaBello

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States