Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was the BIZNESS!!! Admittedly I didn't follow to the T, but close enough. Rather than tom sauce and fresh tomatoe, I used 1 can of cut up whole tomates along w/the juice from that can. I also ended up using all the juice from the other can. I would've used 2 cans of tom, but idk if my kids would have liked all those tom. I was cooking chicken for chicken tacos so just added some of that to the tom juice for the liquid. Again, due to my kids, I only used 1 onion and 1 green pepper. I can't imagine 2 onions, 1 of both was sufficient. I also didn't use corn or olives. Served this with refried beans and chicken tacos. DELICIOUS! Next time, however, I wouldn't use all the bacon grease, I would half it. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this yesterday to go with cheese enchiladas I prepared for my birthday luncheon. I doubled the recipe as suggested, and made only minor changes. As I didn't want it to be too tomato-ey, I changed the ratio of broth and tomato sauce to 3:1, in accordance with some previous reviews. I also omitted the fresh tomatoes. I used 2 green & 2 red bell peppers, plus one hot light green pepper (instead of the chili powder). I included the corn but not the olives (the enchiladas had some and I didn't want to overdo it). The result was excellent. I made it fairly early in the morning, and reheated it for 3 min. in the microwave just before serving. Oh, and as I had forgotten to add the bacon, I sprinkled it on the top, which gave a nice appearance. Although this recipe was a bit more work than some of the Spanish rice recipes on AR, I think the extra work was well worth it, and will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
So great. My go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefster
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
A wonderful side for my chicken enchilada dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Very good. I did make some changes: used 2 14 ox cans of fire roasted tomatoes instead of 2 tomatoes. 1.5 cups of rice.. didn't want to leave a 1/2 cup rice in the package. omitted the olives and corn ( didn't have them, optional anyway) This was a big hit. the rich flavor is what makes this rice good. It is not so much a prominent bacon flavor, but a round savory flavor. do not omit. This will be going into the rotation. It made quite a lot, but the 2 year old loved it as well as the hubby so WINNING! Next time I will add the olives but I am not sure ab0out the corn...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by cornelia_sltz
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I do it often.It is good,fast and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cornelia_sltz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe even though 30-40 minutes for white rice that normally cooks in 15 minutes sounded like it would make the rice soft and gooey. Well it does! There also doesn't need to be more than 2 total cups of liquid. If you've heated your liquids, and sauteed the veggies, then it's warm when you put it together, so for heaven's sake check it when it's been on the stove 15 minutes. I also had to double the chili powder because it was so flavorless from the overcooking and too much liquid. I used it in a fritatta this morning and the egg and cheese made it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was amazing! I didn't have fresh tomatoes on hand so I drained a can of chopped tomatoes and added that instead. I also didn't have any chicken broth in the pantry so I braised some chicken breasts and set them aside and used the liquid in place of the broth. The rest of the recipe I followed to the "T" only I chopped up the chicken breasts and tossed those in at the end when I added the corn and olives in. This is an authentic Spanish Rice recipe and I'm sure it's also perfect as written. Thank you so much, Deed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was very delicious. I doubled the recipe. I didn't add the bacon. We're Jews, we don't eat bacon. I used brown rice instead of white and didn't change anything and it turned out very well, maybe cooked a little bit longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very yummy. I used a can of southwest style chopped tomatoes instead of the plain chopped tomatoes. I also left out the bell peppers and olives because of personal preference. I also added some cumin. I'll probably add some garlic and possibly some diced potatoes next time I make this. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States