Spanish Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
I chose this recipe to as a side dish for carne guisada. I live in the San Antonio area and found that the ingredients sounded about right and the prep uncommonly simple. To my suprise not only was it delicious but impressed a hispanic dinner guest so much she took the recipe home to her grandmother! Honestly...I left out the mustard..I had never heard of that....all turned out well without it. Also instead of tomatoe juice I used a cup of prepared caldo de tomate (tomatoe bullion). If you love spanish rice this is your best bet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
My husband, the rice freak, LOVED this recipe and asks for it about once a week! Very easy to make and flexible enough to sub if you don't have everything on hand. I was out of tomato juice, so used a small can of tomato paste with equal amounts of water. Worked just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This recipe not only got an "A" in ease of preparation, but the taste was outstanding as well. I was a little confused as to whether or not you were supposed to cook the instant rice first (you're not) but I will definitely be serving this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This recipe was good; I liked it better than the rice I eat out of many Mexican Restaurant. Something to look out for: When I increased the serving size to 20, it increased the number of vegetables: 4 onions, 4 red peppers, 2 green peppers. It was too much, I used one green pepper, one red pepper, one yellow pepper, and one onion, and that was great. I added chili powder, diced tomatoes with green chilies and chicken broth. It was great. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I was looking for an easy Spanish rice recipe that tasted somewhat like my grandmother's. This one had far more liquid, too much for my taste. My family may have liked it better if I added more rice or less tomato juice as it seemed like the other ingredients overpowered the rice. I doubt that I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I thought this was very good. I'm not a very big spanish rice fan, but this was good. I did have to cook it longer than the recipe called for in order to get the rice soft. For all of the people who leave out the mustard or are scared to use it, you should try it! I think it definitely makes it more flavorful. I even added more than the recipe called for! It gave it zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I really liked the flavor of this recipe but found it to be a bit too crunchy for my tastes when simmering for only 5 minutes. I would recommend simmering for longer so that the rice, oinions and peppers have more time to soften. I changed it slightly by foregoing the cup of tomato juice and adding two cans of diced tomatos. With that in mind, I will definately make it again. We enjoyed it and I always have the ingredients on hand which makes it easy to make. And it hardly takes any time at all which is another bonus! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Very good flavor. I used diced tomatoes with onions and peppers, so I deleted the green pepper. Also added about 1 tsp taco seasoning. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Great recipe! I added a 4 oz. can of green chilis, omitted the mustard, and used 1 can of diced tomatoes with the juice (no tomato juice). Also added a dash of cayenne pepper and 1 T of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This reminds me of my husband's spanish rice. He's Italian. When we have leftover made-from-scratch spaghetti sauce he adds some Taco seasoning, red & orange bell peppers-chopped and MIN--- Rice. It is wonderful. I love it better than any I have ever had at a restaurant or out of a box. Good way of using up extra pasta sauce too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States