Spanish Rice Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I thought this was a great base recipe! I did omit the tomato's After the salsa I hought it would have been to much for our taste! I did add in some chopped green and red peppers and diced up an onion!This makes an wonderful weeknight meal with minimal preparation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
We love this!! I do tweak the recipe to make it spicy. I use rotel, jalapeño slices, & hot salsa. I have made a mild version with diced tomatoes, mild salsa, & green olives. I always buy the Spanish rice with vermicelli in it. The vermicelli gives it moisture & a good consistency. I always double this recipe because it's a quick & easy favorite! On a side note ... It is great as a taco filler also. It can be added to a wrap with beans,cheese, lettuce, sour cream. It's also great if you have leftovers to scramble in eggs for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
use regular iced tomatoes and add diced chilies (over half can). use the rest in cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I made this for the first time minus the chilies and diced tomatoes. I added a bit more salsa instead. Others commented it was a little runny. A pinch of flour fixed that. For the chicken I cooked boneless breast on the grill. I spiced it up with salt pepper and ms dash fiesta blend. I squirted a little lime juice on top before seasoning and grilling. It was good. I sprinkled some left over taco cheese on top.....yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
loved it. good & easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was a great recipe. I used Zataran's spanish rice mix, can of diced toms, can of Rotel, butter, and 2 chicken breasts cut up. I thought two were plenty and I cooked them before adding it to the mix. I also wanted it to have more rice so it would be more filling. I added 1 cup of cooked brown rice, and glad I did. I didn't use the salsa because I didn't have any and the Rotel is pretty much the same thing anyways. I ended up adding about a teaspoon of cumin and half teaspoon of cajun seasoning. The kids said it was a little spicy but they went back for seconds, so it must not have been that spicy to them. I thought it was great! We have a family of four and this fed us all with a little bit left over. I couldn't think of what else to make with it for a side dish so just ate it alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
bottom line. if my kids eat it, it's dang good!!!!!! and this is not gourmet, but good. also good enough to put into my kid's lunch box the nest day--hhheeeeyyyyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Way too much tomato for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was great!!! I only used the ingredients that I had on hand. I cooked 1 cup of brown rice seasoned with garlic, pimento, and cumin, cubed 2 leftover cooked chicken breasts, sauteed half a red onion, 1 red pepper, and slowly stirred in the cooked rice, cubed chicken, 1/2 cup salsa, and 1 small chopped roma tomato. Stir everything together, and let it simmer for 10-15 min on low. When serving, I added a dollop of sour cream, and a pinch of shredded parmeasan cheese. Taste just like Chipotle!! Certainly a keeper! Thanks Ms. Harron!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Loved it. I doubled the recipe but didn't double the diced tomatoes and it was great. Also added more chicken than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States