Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Ever since I located this recipe I have made it at least once every two weeks. I don't change a thing and I absolutely love it. I always get to freeze some for later and this meal makes a great lunch for work next day. It has been a hit at a few pot lucks at work, and with family members. Recipe is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
In staying true to the recipe, our family thought it was good. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
We loved this but did make a few changes to original recipe. We omitted the chile sauce & brown sugar since most reviews stated this was too sweet. I also added a couple gloves of chopped garlic and a small can of tomato sauce. I made mine in a dutch oven so I could use one dish instead of 2 or 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was very good but only after reading the other reviews, I did add a can of black beans, corn, diced tomatoes, extra cummin, garlic and taco seasoning. I also spread a can of refried beans on the bottom of the casserole dish. Served this with corn chips. I added 3 cups of sharp cheddar cheese to the top before baking. MMMMM it was so good and the whole family loved it! It takes a 13X19 size baking dish, this makes a lot! After I fried up the ground beef and other ingredients I transfered it to the baking dish with the refried beans on the bottom, this way I could store the leftovers in the fridge without removing it from the dish. (oh, I forgot to add the sugar, it does not need it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Galan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton Lake, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is so fresh and delicious! Didn't do the cilantro as I do not care for it. Reminds me of Pancheros minus the tortilla - just the filling. I may even add black beans next time. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjmamaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasantville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was really good, and I found that baking it after the stovetop part wasn't necessary. I just threw a handful of shredded cheese, sour cream and avocado slices on it after the rice was fully done. The cheese melted over the top, then a couple of turns of the pepper grinder, and voila! I used stewed italian style tomatoes which had a lot of flavor, and instead of chili sauce I used a tomatillo cooking sauce. My husband really liked the flavor and texture of this dish! Hearty but not too rich if you don't turn it into a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alywest

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Thanks for sharing this recipe. It was so delicious and simple to make. My whole family loved it! There are a lot of reviews that say the rice didn't cook but you need to keep the lid on the first 15-20 min. and then stir. I kept it on medium low heat and simmered it for only 25 minutes, not 30. I also used El Pato sauce for the chile sauce. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this dish. My only suggestion would be to partially cook the rice beforehand, otherwise it doesn't fully cook. I may add beans next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Sunmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Great... I cooked the rice first and did everything else in one dish. I highly suggest topping it with a good cheddar (not the cheap orange stuff). I took others advice and saved enough in two small dishes to freeze for one pot meals down the road. I also used Rotel tomatoes (w/ jalapeños) and it was a great compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This recipe was great! To make it a little bit healthier I used ground turkey and quiona rather than rice. I added some taco seasoning to the turkey and used tomato sauce instead of chili sauce. I didn't have any canned tomatos and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States