Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
as others noted, this was far too sweet for me. there was no need for brown sugar and additional tomatoes would have been better than chili sauce. I would also have added cheese to the dish, not merely as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was definitely edible, but waaaaay too sweet for my family and I. It lacked something too, maybe some corn? Maybe less brown sugar and more spice? I think I will make this again just to use as a nice rice base to make a taco casserole. I'll add a packet of taco seasoning to the meat when browning it, nix the other spices/sauces and dump all the other veggies and rice in it and serve it with a layer of refried beans, sour cream and black olives on top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I love this recipe! I've made it as listed above but have also used it as a catch-all for leftovers.... I've used leftover Thanksgiving turkey in place of the beef, added kidney beans, corn, salsa! Really anything left over in the fridge/pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea & Frankie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birchrunville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
DELICIOUS!! I've made it a few times already and its a hit. A few people commented on the rice not being cooked, I usually add a LITTLE (maybe a couple table spoons)bit more water and use a cover while its cooking. It makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is great! I changed it up buy using spicy canned tomatoes and Monterey Jack cheese. I also omitted the brown sugar and used red pepper seasoning for a kick instead of the chili sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Very easy and delicious. I didn't have chili sauce so I used 1c of mild salsa & 1/2c of water. I also added cumen, chili powder & garlic powder to my hamburger when browning. I added a can of mexi-corn to the mixture and cooked it entirely on stove top because I didn't want to start oven & heat up my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of: adding a couple of chopped chorizo sausage along with the beef mince, using home-made passata sauce instead of tinned tomatoes, used chicken stock instead of water and increased the amount of rice (I used jasmine) slightly by 10 grams. Also pepped up the flavour by adding some chili powder and a dash of Tabasco.Was planning to make chili con carne initially for dinner then thought hmmm, why not do this recipe instead and have a one-pot dish with everything in it. So before transferring to the dish to bake, added a can of kidney beans. A friendly tip while baking in the oven - cover the dish with foil so the cheese won't harden and the rice won't get burned. Hubby loved it, went for seconds. Tasted even better the next day. Got some frozen in reserve for emergency days when there's no time to cook. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Great recipie! everybody loved it, this will be a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
My family enjoyed this dish. I did however make a few alterations because I did not have some of the ingredients on hand. Instead of chile sauce I used 8oz can of tomato sauce and added some chili powder. Also didn't have cilantro, so I used green onions. Used orange and yellow bell peppers instead of green bell peppers too. Definitely will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 717) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States