Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly. Unfortunately my hubby thought it was just ok and a little sweet for his tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
We LOVED this recipe! I did however, cook it in one pan and served the cheese on the side. My husband likes rice so I cooked an extra pot of rice and it was good with extra rice. I didn't have just diced tomatoes but, I did have a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and onions. Yummy..It would be good wrapped in a flour tortilla too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
My family and I ate this for dinner tonight and loved every bite! I follwed a few tips from other posts. Added alittle taco seasoning to meat, used 1 &1/4 cup water and simmer on low for 40 mins, no sugar and replaced the chile sauce with salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muscle Jock Chef
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
WOW!!! this recipe is totally AWESOME.. I made this one pot dish in a cast iron skillet.. I also used ground bison instead of ground beef, it's more lean less fat. Like the other reviewers while browning your meat add the seasons , I didn't use the brown sugar, can diced tomatoes, or the chili sauce I use salsa medium & hot instead of that. Which gives you all the flavor. I also use little more cumin to taste and I added a can of Mexican corn w/ peppers, also a little taco seasoning on the beef... MMMMMMM this was perfect.. when adding the rice it is important not to do too much stirring of the rice just evenly distribute & cover with lid turn all the way down to low for simmer.. I added grated extra sharp cheese to the topping .. My friend who I cooked this for.. LOVE IT.. .said I knocked it out of the park. Remember when cooking anything seasoning is all about taste, slowly add your seasoning then taste.. add more if needed to suit the taste your looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muscle Jock Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was excellent! I made a few adjustments, only because of what I had in my pantry. I used 2 (10oz.) cans Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies (mild) instead of the diced tomatoes, green pepper, and chili sauce (I omitted the sugar). In an oven safe, covered skillet, I browned the beef (97% lean), with the onions, and then added the rest of the ingredients (except the cheese), covered and cooked until the rice was done. Uncovered, sprinkled with cheese and placed the uncovered skillet in the oven until the cheese was melted and slightly browned. Garnished with sliced scallions (didn’t have cilantro) and sour cream. Everyone loved this, even the Grandkids, who asked me to make it again, really-really soon… lol Next time I’ll double the recipe, the little bit of leftovers was great the next day... but left me wanting more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is almost the same recipe that my mother has been making for the past 50+ years and I've been making for the past 40. The differences are we do not add brown sugar or chili sauce, since I am a diabetic, nor do we add salt and use the low sodium tomato sauce and diced stewed tomatoes. Something else that I do is instead of ground beef, I use ground turkey or ground chicken thighs (since the thigh meat has more flavor), and instead of water, use homemade chicken broth. If you want a little more spiciness, add a small can of red Enchilada sauce (I use the mild). A real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was excellent! I did make a few adjustments. I used red and banana peppers instead of green pepper. I used canned tomatoes with green chilies instead of plain canned tomatoes. I used Heinz brand of chili sauce but also added about 1 T sriracha sauce. Rice took longer to cook so had to increase liquid. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I absolutely love this, and have made it many times now; it's really wonderful fresh, with the sweet sauce and the cilantro. I typically hate leftover food, but this is one leftover dish I can eat all week. It is sweet, depending on how much brown sugar you use. I didn't have bell peppers the first time I've made this, so I substituted garbanzo beans instead, and have been making it with garbanzo beans since then. I also had run out of chile sauce, so used a mixture of tomato sauce/brown sugar/vinegar/allspice. Oh, and don't mess with all the extra frying pans and saucers; brown the beef in one dish, drain the fat, and simply add the rest of the ingredients to that dish, after which you can transfer it all to the appropriate casserole dish. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
It was good. I made some changes as per other reviews. I sprinkled some taco seasoning mix onto the ground beef, used salsa instead of the chili sauce and omitted the brown sugar. I cooked it all in one pan and sprinkled the cheese on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Tasty! Reminds me a bit of my stuffed bell pepper filling, but easier and quicker to make. My kids are grown, but I wish we'd had this recipe in our arsenal while they were with us. It's great to have another option for ground beef. I followed the recipe, except I used a 28-oz can of tomatoes, as well as a couple of the tips in other reviews, adding a handful of frozen corn at the same time as the other additions, and browning the ground beef along with a clove of garlic and the onion. I, too, made the entire meal in a cast iron skillet rather than messing with other pots. My husband raved about this and enjoyed seconds as well as taking some for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 726) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States