Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Just tried this for the first time, really yummy. Lots of flavor. I will reduce the simmering time next time, mine burned just a bit on the bottom. Served it with refried beans and tortillas, both husband and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
FANTASTIC! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very good. I used salsa instead of chili sauce & red pepper not green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I make a similar dish, but this recipe is definately better. I used ground turkey & sauteed the onions with it & added seasoned salt & chilli powder. I then added a large can of diced tomatoes, a jar of salsa & the remaining ingredients. I omitted the chili sauce & brown sugar, as suggested by others. I also used brown rice. This definately took longer. I had to simmer everything for about 1 hr. I transferred it to a baking dish & topped with lots of cheddar cheese & green onion. We can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow night! I am going to use it for taco salads! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XtinaU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
i am rating 4 because of brown sugar and those darn whole tomatoes. i will definitely leave it out the brown sugar...i hated it sweet! Also don't use whole tomatoes. i don't like that much in a bite. but if you do go ahead. diced tomatoes would have been much better. I used chicken broth instead of water...I know it will be really good next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIDOESLOANS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delish!!! I made it with brown rice and used Trader Joe's Salsa Authentica instead of chile sauce. I also used a whole green pepper instead of measuring out a 1/4 cup. An important note if you're using brown rice - it needs to simmer for about 50 minutes instead of 30. It had tons of flavor and felt hearty even with brown rice, 90% meat and reduced fat cheese. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I used cooked chicken instead of ground beef, since I'm not fond of the texture that the ground beef has. It turned out GREAT!!! and was given two thumbs up by family. This recipe is in the must repeat file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I've made this twice now. As someone suggested, I left out the brown sugar. I also prepared it in one sauce pan and I didn't bother to bake it. We added the cheese at the table. It's nourishing, doesn't take a lot of preparation or use more than one piece of cookware. It will be my go-to for a hot meal without a lot of effort. NOTE: I prepared this a 3rd time and since I had no chili sauce, I substituted ketchup with no noticeable difference. The big change was that I added a mounded TB of hot chili paste. Good if you like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I added taco seasoning to the beef, and made my own chili sauce with 1/2 cup ketchup + 2 tsp chili powder. Only used 1 pan & I did not take the cover off the pan to stir while the rice was cooking because that would let the steam escape which is part of how the rice cooks. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Followed recipe howver added red pepper flakes and it still seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States