Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I was impressed and thought this was very good!!! My husband however, thought it was too sweet. So next time, I'll omit the brown sugar and reduce the amount of chili sauce by half, replacing the rest with tomato sauce. A little tip for those that those that had a problem with the rice taking longer to cook or that it wasn't finished, it could be from stirring it around too often while the rice is cooking. I did not lift the lid from the pan while it simmered to prevent the steam from escaping (which is what cooks the rice) and it came out perfectly. Also, there's no sense in browing the meat and transferring it to another pot. Just start off browning the meat in a large pot and adding all of the other ingredients as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
917 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This has become a staple in our home, we have it every 2-3 weeks. I typically try and use brown rice because it's healthier and sometimes use the Asian style chili sauce for its sweetness (to suit the kids' taste). We love this, thank you! **updated comments: why dirty 3 pans? Make it in a dutch oven or similar cast iron pan, brown the meat in it, throw all the other ingredients in, let it cook and then throw the whole thing in the oven. 1 dish to wash!**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
509 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsimon99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Delish and easy! I followed the advice of other reviewers and used salsa instead of chili sauce. To make it simpler (with less clean-up), I cooked everything in one pot and served it right out of the pot. Instead of baking it with cheese on top, I garnished each serving with a dollop of fat free sour cream. This recipe is a keeper! By the way, don't touch the rice while it's cooking. Just put the lid on the pot and simmer for 25 - 30 minutes or else it will get gluey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I made this rice last night and being from Costa Rica, (where we eat rice with just about every meal) the reason why people are experiencing some difficulties with cooking the rice is because the recipe calls for medium low heat, and the only way you can get the rice to cook all the way is by cooking it in just LOW heat. Cooked mine in low heat for about 40 mins added 1.5 cups of medium salsa instead of the water, and a can of corn and once I placed all the ingredients in the casserole dish before baking it I put a layer of refried beans and sprinkle the cheese. I also added some taco seasoning, cumin, and some fresh garlic when I cooked the meat, since i find that the meat picks up all the flavors when you brown it (I will never brown any meat without spices, is like showering without soap!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDbikerchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This is so delicious! I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes which worked really well, with the smaller can it was a bit too dry. I used chili powder instead of chili sauce. I have made this recipe at least 5 times and it's always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I will definitely make this again, but I have a few comments. It is sweet, but that's okay. My rice wasn't done after 30 mins., so I had to add 1/4 cup of water and 10 more mins. of cooking. I'll add more water at the beginning next time. I agree that this is even better the second day; it's a great "make ahead" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Great recipe that I make often!!! I use extra tomatoes instead of chili sauce and add cayenne pepper for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
LOVED THIS RECIPE! Per previous reviews, added extra cheese at the end and the sour cream for topping it all off is a must have. Easy and tatsy sum this one up. Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
Great weeknight meal-I had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a wonderful dish. It can be served as a side to any meat. Just a trick regarding the rice, a rice expert once told me that if you rinse your rice in cold water at least three times, then let it sit in cold water for about 1 hour, the rice will not stick. It also will cook better because it absorbs some of the water and puffs out. It works, my rice is separate and cooks easily every time, even with the cheapest rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gananoque, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 699) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States