Spanish Potato Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
More patience and medium heat for the small-cubed potatoes work better for me. Added some sliced red chilli for a spicy touch (can't help being Malaysian!). Pan tip: After sliding omelette onto a big plate. Invert pan over the omelette and turn the whole plate/pan combo over. Then place pan back on stove. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by argus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Cham, Zug, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I loved it! Of course I tweeked it to my taste like cutting out the tomato and onion. It tasted just like I remembered when I lived in Spain for a semester long ago! Loved it thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
this is very good... I make these often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
MUY FABULOSO! Very good, simple and filling recipe. Perfect for a busy weeknight when you're low on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was very good! I just made it for breakfast and it was delicious! I made it without the salsa on the side and added a bit of grated cheese on top...was very tasty and very filling! Thank you for this recipe! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Tortilla Espanola, as this is called in Spain, is definitely part of the Spanish way of life. They eat very light dinners over there and when I lived there we would have this at least twice a week (served with crusty bread and a simple lettuce salad dressed with vinegar and olive oil). While I was in Seville, I was taught by a Spaniard I met there how to make this and this is pretty much what he taught me. The only thing I really do differently is to stir the potatoes often while cooking so that they don't get browned. You really want them to be very soft and tender, not crispy. It's also worth noting that in some regions of Spain they do not use onions (I lived for a while in Salamanca, which is about 3 hours west of Madrid, and they never used onions there). It's good either way but I find that when made with onions it is a little more moist. I currently make it without because my boyfriend is allergic to onions. Every time I saw this served in a home, it was simply made with just potatoes, eggs, and maybe onions. I never saw anybody garnish it with tomatoes and green onion (or anything, really), although in restaurants they would often mix in other vegetables or ham so you can really add whatever you like. Another tip I use is to determine when the eggs are fully cooked, insert a butter knife into the center of the tortilla. If it comes out clean, it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was good..pretend its an egg tortilla and put whatever you like for the topping... Never had my potatoes in the omelet itself but it was worth it... I always mix my eggs and potatoes in the diner as I'm sure most do, so what the heck.. It was pretty good and real easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is delicious. I used red onion and didn't bother about the tomatoes etc. Am cooking it for the second time tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angwyrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Delicious. I used half an onion, two potatos, a head of broccoli in floretts, a handful of sugar snap peas and 5 baby corn cobs, six eggs. I didnt have any meat so just used a tablespoon of chicken stock. Seasoned with black pepper, and garlic salt. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was pretty tasty, although I made mine more like a scramble than an omelet. I fried up the potatoes and onions first, and then poured in the eggs and scrambled everything together. I also cooked the tomatoes instead of adding them at the end, but skipped the green onion. By scrambling it all together, I think I shaved a considerable amount of time on the cooking process. I added about a 1/2 cup of sharp cheddar, and that was really tasty. Next time, I think I'll add green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States