Spanish Potato Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This was delicious. I cut the potatoes and onion potato chip thin on a mandoline type slicer, and threw in a handful of mushrooms. Topped with chipotle Tabasco, this made an awesome Lenten Friday supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Kopecky Feeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is so delicious!!! I served it with picante sauce and sour cream. Thank you for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Try it the traditional way: olive oil, potatoes, eggs, salt & pepper only. Let the potatoes get soft, but not brown & crispy. In Spain, many people choose to eat this tortilla espanola con mayonesa (with mayonnaise for dipping). If you are afraid of inverting the omelet then try using an oven-proof pan and once the bottom is set transfer it to the oven at 350 degrees until it's set. Works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSI1832

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was a great base to use for an omlette, absolutely delicious! Instead of tomatoes and spring onion which I didn't have, I added chopped ham, broccoli and mushrooms to make it go a bit further and add some nutrition. Best omlette I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gore, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I don't know much about spanish cuisine but this omelet made for a delicious sunday morning breakfast. Unlike most,I added the tomato and green onion garnish and i'm glad i did. I also added garlic and cheddar cheese. I did follow the advise of the reviewer who put it under the broiler to cook the top, as i didn't want to attempt to flip it. With my luck i would have had to eat it off the kitchen floor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Pretty good. 4 stars as I don't think it's as good as the original. I've been cooking Tortilla Papas for my family for more than eighteen years. Like others, I don't use much more than potatoes, onions/garlic, salt and pepper, and olive oil. I, too, do not brown the potatoes. I, too, add the cooked potatoes to the bowl of beaten (well-salted) eggs along with a dollop of olive oil and allow it to sit for a half hour. This is the way traditional tortilla is made--but there are other types/fillings, too. I serve it either hot or cold, cut into wedges. One word of caution, though: if planning to serve cold, DO NOT WRAP UNTIL THE TORTILLA HAS COMPLETELY COOLED! Doing so may/will cause a chemical/steam/heat reaction in the eggs--they'll turn green (like green eggs and ham). It will still taste good, but will look weird (my son took an entire 14" tortilla to school for an international potluck; being impatient, he wrapped it before it cooled and discovered this the hard way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was so good! I omitted the tomatoes and green onions at the advice of the reviewers who ate this in Spain. My omelet fell apart during the inversion process, but I just need practice. If you like potatoes, you'll like this omelet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
a bit simple really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggietoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardiff, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Oh wow! This took me back to Barcelona, sitting in a cafe at the Placa de Catalunya, eating a cold wedge of tortilla de patatas with a cafe con leche....mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I grew up on this recipe and have made it for the 30+ years I've been cooking! My father was from Kansas, and I always thought it was a US-mid-west recipe! So I've learned something new here (does this mean I can now say I'm experienced in Spanish cuisine?) LOL! This recipe is great - it's real comfort food to my family and very quick and easy to make! (btw - my mother always just called this Potato - Onions & Eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States