Spanish Potato Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Thank you for the recommend, MI$$DREA. I made this for my husband and I this morning. Only thing different I did was use butter instead of EVOO and added shredded white cheddar. I browned the heck out of my potatoes as we like them more done. Very good. We haven't had a GOOD omelette since we got back from Vegas.....we were quiet happy with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
this cooking method made very simple ingredients look surprisingly impressive. i used my food processor and added chorizo. this paired nicely with a fruit salad. Update: Made this again but added leftover corn chips with the potatoes and added spinach with the eggs this time. Delicious! I love this recipe because it uses very few ingredients when you are low on groceries but yields impressive results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I was looking for directions on how to make a Spanish Omelet, and this one fit the bill. My visiting Basque (Spain) student made one for us, and I couldn't recall exactly how she did it. This recipe refreshed my memory. This was good, but only 4 stars bc not as fantastic as the one I had before. I think she used fewer potatoes and more eggs. She cut them up into cubes and cooked them with a little water in the microwave first to speed things up. I did that too, and did not make them crispy as the recipe states. I also used more eggs...I ended up using 7 eggs for 2 adults and 3 kids and we ate it all. I did not use the tomato or green onions. It was good and we enjoyed it. I'll just use less potatoes next time. I think this is an authentic recipe...it's just up to individual tastes as to how much and what kind of veggies to include. Thanks! Update: I tried this again, with 1/2 pound (2 small) potatoes sliced very thin, one LARGE onion and 7 eggs. Next time I will use maybe 10 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
DH wanted omlets for dinner so I decided to give this one a try. I didn't add the tomato and garnished with a bit of green onion and they were soooo good!!! It is a bit tricky to turn it out of the pan and back in but I used a pizza pan and it wasnt that bad and only made a slight mess, lol. I will be using this one again since we enjoyed it so much. Simple and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Surprisingly good and so easy! We will occasionally have "breakfast" for dinner and it's hearty enough as a main dish, although you might want to make extra if there are more than 2 people. My husband loved it and so did my 2 1/2 year old even with onions. We skipped the tomato and green onion garnish and it was tasty on its own. Served it with bread and a side of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Shiu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Excellent recipe for a Spanish tortilla!! Just like the tortillas my señora made for me while I was studying abroad in Sevilla. (The name should include the word "tortilla," so the recipe will pop up when someone searches for "tortilla." It didn't pop up when I was looking for a tortilla recipe, so it took me a while to find it.) Also, the main picture does not make it look like a tortilla at all, so the picture should probably be changed to give people a better idea of what it's supposed to look like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I would suggest that you sautee the onions first until brown and then add the potatoes. This way the oil gets all the flavor from the onions which then transfers to the potatoes. As far as garnish, we really (I am from Spain) don't garnish it with anything but hey it doesn't hurt either. We eat it with bread which is very similar to french baguette. This is the typical "Pincho de tortilla" that you can get at every bar. The only thing I was surprised with was the picture, because it looks scrambled and it is suppose to look like a pie (more or less). It is not that hard to turn it. Make sure you put enough oil in the non-stick pan, put a plate bigger that the pan on top of the pan and if you are afraid it may slip put a piece of paper towel on two sides of the pan (in between the pan and the dish) and then flip it with a quick move. That's a trick my mom showed me when I first started cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bilbao, Euskadi, Spain
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I really love the combination of potatoes, onions, and egg for a quick meal. I've made and eaten this many times; my German grandmother frequently made it with leftover baked potatoes. I like to garnish this with fresh cilantro, parsley, and chives and I think it's wonderful as a "tortilla" or as a scramble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I was a bit skeptical with this recipe because it seems plain and too easy. Decided to give this a try though to use up potatoes and they came out very good. Omitted the spring onion and tomatoes since that's how they serve them in Spain. This definitely brought as back and is good served hot or cold. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I hate to rate this low, but this was a VERY plain omelet. I was not impressed at all. The only thing I tasted was potato, even with quite a bit of salt and pepper. I followed the recipe to a T. Yes, it is very easy to make, so I gave it 1 star. My father liked it, so it got another star. It just lacked flavor in my book. But, maybe, having never been to Spain, bland is how it was supposed to be? Thank you for sharing. I am sorry to rate it so low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States