Spanish Potato Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I just made this for the second time. I cut the potatoes thinner this time around, added a little garlic witht he sliced onion, a little mozarella on the top and finished it with the chopped tomato and a little tobasco. I'm eating in my bedroom and I have no idea what the other people in the house think must be going on in here. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
GREAT!! I scaled down to two servings, but next time will scale to 3--I could have eaten more!! I didn't have tomatoes or spring onions, so topped it with a little salsa! Yumm-O!! Thanks for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was a really quick and easy recipe, and I liked that the ingredients are things I always have on hand. I used a little less oil and onions, and seasoned the potatoes with Adobo. And I left out the tomatoes and green onions. I ended up making a 2nd batch right away because my family enjoyed the first batch so much and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I was raised in Spain and this is definitely a simple and delicious recipe that is just like "home" for me. As other reviewers have mentioned, they do not use tomatoes or green onions with a potato omelet in Spain! Also, we lived in Southern Andalucia, which might be different, but we always cubed our potatoes and fried them until tender (not crispy). As other reviewers have noted, the traditional step is to then mix the eggs, onions & potatoes in a bowl together, letting them sit for a few minutes before cooking the omelet. This is an extremely simple and completely delicious recipe! All my American friends like to dip their bites of potato omelet in KETCHUP when they eat it...whatever works! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Being a Spaniard, this recipe caught my attention. Tortilla de patata is truly a simple, rustic dish and it sounds like everyone's got the right idea. Having made this tortilla many times at home and with family in Spain-I have a couple tips to share. After cooking the sliced potatoes in olive oil, I drain them in a colander then put potatoes back into frying pan (a good non-stick works best!) After adding egg and pushing potatoes down so they're submerged as much as possible, I cover the pan and cook on very low heat-you can actually cook the tortilla all the way through this way and only need to invert onto a serving plate and cut into wedges to serve-although if you're using a non-stick, the inversion process is a snap. I'd never had Tortilla made with anything other than potato, egg, and onion UNTIL I experimented on my own. I sauteed chorizo, put half the potatoes in the pan sauteed chorizo on top of potato, rest of potatoes on top of chorizo, then egg over all. Really good! and a very nice presentation when sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Thank you for the recommend, MI$$DREA. I made this for my husband and I this morning. Only thing different I did was use butter instead of EVOO and added shredded white cheddar. I browned the heck out of my potatoes as we like them more done. Very good. We haven't had a GOOD omelette since we got back from Vegas.....we were quiet happy with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
this cooking method made very simple ingredients look surprisingly impressive. i used my food processor and added chorizo. this paired nicely with a fruit salad. Update: Made this again but added leftover corn chips with the potatoes and added spinach with the eggs this time. Delicious! I love this recipe because it uses very few ingredients when you are low on groceries but yields impressive results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I was looking for directions on how to make a Spanish Omelet, and this one fit the bill. My visiting Basque (Spain) student made one for us, and I couldn't recall exactly how she did it. This recipe refreshed my memory. This was good, but only 4 stars bc not as fantastic as the one I had before. I think she used fewer potatoes and more eggs. She cut them up into cubes and cooked them with a little water in the microwave first to speed things up. I did that too, and did not make them crispy as the recipe states. I also used more eggs...I ended up using 7 eggs for 2 adults and 3 kids and we ate it all. I did not use the tomato or green onions. It was good and we enjoyed it. I'll just use less potatoes next time. I think this is an authentic recipe...it's just up to individual tastes as to how much and what kind of veggies to include. Thanks! Update: I tried this again, with 1/2 pound (2 small) potatoes sliced very thin, one LARGE onion and 7 eggs. Next time I will use maybe 10 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
DH wanted omlets for dinner so I decided to give this one a try. I didn't add the tomato and garnished with a bit of green onion and they were soooo good!!! It is a bit tricky to turn it out of the pan and back in but I used a pizza pan and it wasnt that bad and only made a slight mess, lol. I will be using this one again since we enjoyed it so much. Simple and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Surprisingly good and so easy! We will occasionally have "breakfast" for dinner and it's hearty enough as a main dish, although you might want to make extra if there are more than 2 people. My husband loved it and so did my 2 1/2 year old even with onions. We skipped the tomato and green onion garnish and it was tasty on its own. Served it with bread and a side of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States