Spanish Potato Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I used only spray oil. This was fun to make! Good taste and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I thought this tasted really good. I did find it hard to use a full 1/2 cup of olive oil, but wanted to follow the recipe exactly the first time. It was actually quite quick to make and very filling. I sliced the potatoes on my cheese grater and it made thin slices quickly. The potatoes and onions browned up pretty fast. I would like to try to make this again using half the amount of oil and see the results, as it was a tad greasy in my opinion. Plus, in reality this seems to make 2 large or 3 small servings and not 6 at all. It was nice to make something with what I had in the house that was tasty to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
It was OK, needed lots of tweaking, not good as written, WAY too much oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is 5 stars after a few modifications. I am not sure how this dish feeds six since my normal sized husband and I shared this and finished it. I also wish it would have specified how long to cook this on low. It took so long that I finally kicked the heat up to medium. Can anyone let us know cook times? Please be careful with over plate flipping because I ended up having my omelet crash back into the pan and break up. I also think you only need 3/4 of a large onion and 1 large tomato. 3 TBS of oil is the perfect amount. To "Americanize" this dish I heated the potatoes for 3 mins on 80% power before cooking as someone else suggested (they were perfect), I warmed up the tomatoes for 20 seconds, and covered the omelet with cheddar cheese shreds before garnish. I couldn't imagine eating an omelet without cheese. I will make this again, it tasted so gourmet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This looked and tasted wonderful. I cut down the oil by half and it still cooked well. Also, i'm not a fan of cold food on my hot food, so I put the tomatoe and green onion on top of the omelets when they were in the pan still right at the end and covered with a sprinkle of reduced fat cheddar which helped to hold them to the omelet. I removed as soon as the cheese had melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
We thought this was pretty good. Its a keeper! I didnt use as much olive oil as the recipe stated, probably used 6T. I put the tomatoes and green onions on the omelette before it was completely cooked. Instead of flipping I covered and cooked on low til it was done. Oh, and I threw on some shredded cheddar. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookityPoo
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Im from Europe and I'm moving to Spain for the food I absolutely loved it and so did my boyfriend after I had to show him this receipe because he thought I ordered it from somewhere, that made me extremely happy. However it did not take me an hour to cook top 30 min. Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
YUM!!! I served this for lunch and it was a big hit. I cut the oil to 3 T. (no more is needed) and to ensure the potatoes would be soft I nuked them in the microwave for three minutes on 80% power. Like other reviewers, I omitted the tomato and green onion. This was very filling and really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
yummmm! my italian grandmother used to make me this as a kid....it brought back such good, cozy,memories.I really think the tip about mixing the cooked potatoes with the beaten eggs then pouring it all back into the fry pan , was a great help with it setting up evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Delicious! I feel the garnish needs a little salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States