Spanish Potato Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Absolutely Awesome!!! Thanks, Patty5! I did add a little more potato, used a cup of egg beaters and 2 real eggs, and only about half of the olive oil. My only change for next time is to use the same (large) frying pan to cook everything in, and then transfer it to a smaller one before I add the egg mixture...my pan was so big, it tended to make the eggs thin...also hard to flip, but that's not the recipe's fault! The tomatoes (LOVE YOU JOANIE!) and scallions put it over the top! Thanks again! Another staple in my recipe mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I had this dish on a recent trip to Puerto Rico and had to come home and make it. The version I had only had potatoes and a small amount of onion diced so that is what I used. I cooked the potatoes until soft, but not crispy. Next time I will take the advice of another reviewer and drain the potatoes after cooking them to remove most of the olive oil. I will make it again with that change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hs in so cal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is just how our exchange student from Spain's mom would make these. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Farmington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I omitted the tomatoes & it tasted just like they do in Spain! A simple dish that's great for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Excellent! I didn't have any green onion on hand. I added cilantro, parsley, and parmesan. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Had never tried this, but it's a great comfort meal! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTRATTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I love eggs....I love potatoes...and onions! SO obviously I loved this recipe haha. I didn't modify this much except when I needed to substitute for ingredients I didn't have at the moment. People may run into problems while trying to keep the potatoes crispy. This means managing the fire, etc. Nonetheless, such a great, simple breakfast.. This has saved me from starving when I had nothing else on hand to start my day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I used only spray oil. This was fun to make! Good taste and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I thought this tasted really good. I did find it hard to use a full 1/2 cup of olive oil, but wanted to follow the recipe exactly the first time. It was actually quite quick to make and very filling. I sliced the potatoes on my cheese grater and it made thin slices quickly. The potatoes and onions browned up pretty fast. I would like to try to make this again using half the amount of oil and see the results, as it was a tad greasy in my opinion. Plus, in reality this seems to make 2 large or 3 small servings and not 6 at all. It was nice to make something with what I had in the house that was tasty to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
It was OK, needed lots of tweaking, not good as written, WAY too much oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States