Spanish Garlic and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Simple, yet savory. Great vegetarian soup, and very easy to make. Not a lot of garlic though, I doubled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Simple Recipe, a bit bland for a do over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
A very nice soup, and super-healthy! I did use veggie broth instead of water and I cut the amount of liquid down, which I think gives the soup a better consistency. I used only 1/2 head of cabbage since it's all I had.This could use a boost of flavor, I added some red pepper flakes for heat, but it is still missing something to make it a five-star soup for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This soup is very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was much better the longer it stayed in the fridge because the flavors began to merge more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was superb! I used kohlrabi instead of the cabbage since it tastes so similar and thats what I had on hand. I thought it turned out fantastic. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I am going to eat the whole pot of this, if I don't put it away! With my changes, it is definitely 5 stars, although I rated it 4 because it would have been too bland for my taste. I used a whole 6-oz can of tomato paste, so I didn't have to waste any of it. I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilis in it. And I substituted butternut squash for the carrots and shallots for the leeks, because that's what I had. I also threw in a can of Great Northern Beans, to add some protein. I'm pretty sure my kids will think it's too spicy, but that's ok because I want it all to myself. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Very good, but a little too thick so I had to add more water at the end. I used frozen crinkle-cut carrots since I didn't have fresh on hand, and used half a head of cabbage but a whole head of cauliflower. I also used a full 6 oz. can of tomato paste and substituted soymilk for milk and margarine for butter. I added allspice, Parmesan cheese and Italian seasoning to give it a heartier flavor. Also, I pureed everything together rather than reserving liquid. Even my picky little brother loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Delish! We couldn't add stock because I can't have any sugars at all (even honey booo), so to deal with any blandness issues as suggested by other people, my husband (who made me this soup while I was a layed up yay!) added a little less water, some extra paste, some oregano and a little more butter. It was so yummy!! A blender works great to make it the perfect consistency, and a little added cayenne pepper leaves you with a warm all over feeling too. Love it! Sharing it with friends. Even the two year old gobbled it up the next day. I felt like I was cheating getting all those great veggies in him so easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERAPHIMJEZEBEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I made this following the recipe almost exactly. I did use veggie broth instead of the water. This is a delicious, soothing soup! It's mild tasting but still has lots of flavor, and my husband liked it, even though he claims to hate cauliflower and cabbage. It was very good with grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch. I know I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States