Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is an awesome flan recipe! I have been using a different recipe for years and decided to try something new. I read all the reviews and thought they sounded good. I will be using this recipe from now on with just 2 modifications. I used 4 eggs instead of 3 and added 1 tsp. of cinnamon. I took 2 of these flan to a neighborhood gathering and everyone went wild over them--lots of compliments. They were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I replaced the caramel with syrup at the bottom of the bowl before throwing the flan mix in tasted great .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Wow!!! A great recipe, Just love it! Even without beating it with a beater, just whisking at hand as in the video, it came out just great!! Absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I've never made caramel before and have not had luck in making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I've made this many times. I've followed the reviews and used 5 eggs, a little lemon while melting the sugar and baked in a water bath. It comes out perfect. Very traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
First time flan maker checked this site, recipe looked good less eggs, a good thing, then I read a few reviews, I've found I learn a lot from these with most recipes, one in particular from eka01 caught my attention, a faster way to mix ingredients. Instead of melting sugar over heat she put 2/3 cup sugar and small amounts of water and lemon juice in Pyrex measuring cup and microwaved it, 2 minutes, check sugar, then another 2 minutes, finished, I found in my micro it took only 3 minutes total. She also used a blender to mix all ingredients, eggs first then added remaining ingredients, I tried it. I was concerned because I was having friends in for dinner, Cuban pork roast, rice and beans then the flan, and he is a flan LOVER has had it in many restaurants including some in Spain. when I served it, he said it blew him away, told him I would like constructive criticism so I could improve next time, he said it was perfect the way it was and not to fool around with recipe! I really wanted to thank "eka01" for her tips!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I love this recipe! Today is the second time I have made it! It is rich and creamy and the caramel is delish! Nothing better than enjoying a childhood favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
awesosme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramces Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I added instant coconut powder to make it a bit tropical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Loved this Recipe! I made this for the feast of St. Isidore the farmer which is my husband's patron saint. The whole family loved it and wanted more. I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States