Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is an awesome flan recipe! I have been using a different recipe for years and decided to try something new. I read all the reviews and thought they sounded good. I will be using this recipe from now on with just 2 modifications. I used 4 eggs instead of 3 and added 1 tsp. of cinnamon. I took 2 of these flan to a neighborhood gathering and everyone went wild over them--lots of compliments. They were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I replaced the caramel with syrup at the bottom of the bowl before throwing the flan mix in tasted great .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Wow!!! A great recipe, Just love it! Even without beating it with a beater, just whisking at hand as in the video, it came out just great!! Absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I wish I could say I loved this but after an hour and two cups of inedible crystalized non-caramel, I've decided to give up. I've never made caramel before and have not had luck in making this. After the fact, I researched how to make sugar caramel and I guess you're not supposed to stir the sugar until it starts to caramelize... that should be included in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I've made this many times. I've followed the reviews and used 5 eggs, a little lemon while melting the sugar and baked in a water bath. It comes out perfect. Very traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
First time flan maker checked this site, recipe looked good less eggs, a good thing, then I read a few reviews, I've found I learn a lot from these with most recipes, one in particular from eka01 caught my attention, a faster way to mix ingredients. Instead of melting sugar over heat she put 2/3 cup sugar and small amounts of water and lemon juice in Pyrex measuring cup and microwaved it, 2 minutes, check sugar, then another 2 minutes, finished, I found in my micro it took only 3 minutes total. She also used a blender to mix all ingredients, eggs first then added remaining ingredients, I tried it. I was concerned because I was having friends in for dinner, Cuban pork roast, rice and beans then the flan, and he is a flan LOVER has had it in many restaurants including some in Spain. when I served it, he said it blew him away, told him I would like constructive criticism so I could improve next time, he said it was perfect the way it was and not to fool around with recipe! I really wanted to thank "eka01" for her tips!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I love this recipe! Today is the second time I have made it! It is rich and creamy and the caramel is delish! Nothing better than enjoying a childhood favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
awesosme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramces Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I added instant coconut powder to make it a bit tropical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Loved this Recipe! I made this for the feast of St. Isidore the farmer which is my husband's patron saint. The whole family loved it and wanted more. I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States