Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
This is a great recipe. I am Cuban and this is a very authentic Spanish flan. A few tips that I think are worth mentioning is that you don't want to over do it on the sugar. If you have to much caramel on the pan or its uneven, after you flip it over the flan will be sunken because the sugar will have melted into it. If you are between having more or less sugar, less is the way to go. I have made flan before with no caramel on the top and it does not taste much different. This is not to say you shouldn't have the caramel top. That is a key element of flan, but don't ruin your flan by putting too much. If the sugar is hardening a lot faster than you can spread it evenly across the pan, which it will do, try putting your pan on the burner to get it hot.(Make sure you are wearing oven mitts!!) Another thing that is mentioned in many recipes, but not in this one is putting it in a water bath. Just find a slightly bigger cake pan and fill it up about halfway with the flan pan inside of it. It will make the flans consistency much smoother and evenly cooked. Don't overcook your flan either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
1 hour in the oven was too long: the flan was burned. The caramel also hardened and stuck to the pan. After I flipped it over onto a plate, it collapsed and came out in a messy pile of chunks. I recommend thinking through the instructions better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I used a 9" nonstick metal dish at 375 degrees for about 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I make 8 pans of this 3 times a year. It's a very good recipe. One of the reviewers had a brilliant suggestion to microwave the syrup (sugar and water) rather than using a pan. It's a wonderful short-cut and the only way I will make flan, ever! I put 1 cup of sugar and 1/3 cup of water in a pyrex measuring cup, and as she suggested, microwave for 7 minutes. Depending on your microwave, it could take longer so keep an eye on it. When it starts to turn med. brown, take it out. It continues to cook and will get darker. This is a very good recipe, you will love it. I usually put 3 oz. of room temp. cream cheese in mine to make it a little richer, but either way, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is an awesome flan recipe! I have been using a different recipe for years and decided to try something new. I read all the reviews and thought they sounded good. I will be using this recipe from now on with just 2 modifications. I used 4 eggs instead of 3 and added 1 tsp. of cinnamon. I took 2 of these flan to a neighborhood gathering and everyone went wild over them--lots of compliments. They were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I replaced the caramel with syrup at the bottom of the bowl before throwing the flan mix in tasted great .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Wow!!! A great recipe, Just love it! Even without beating it with a beater, just whisking at hand as in the video, it came out just great!! Absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I've never made caramel before and have not had luck in making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I've made this many times. I've followed the reviews and used 5 eggs, a little lemon while melting the sugar and baked in a water bath. It comes out perfect. Very traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
First time flan maker checked this site, recipe looked good less eggs, a good thing, then I read a few reviews, I've found I learn a lot from these with most recipes, one in particular from eka01 caught my attention, a faster way to mix ingredients. Instead of melting sugar over heat she put 2/3 cup sugar and small amounts of water and lemon juice in Pyrex measuring cup and microwaved it, 2 minutes, check sugar, then another 2 minutes, finished, I found in my micro it took only 3 minutes total. She also used a blender to mix all ingredients, eggs first then added remaining ingredients, I tried it. I was concerned because I was having friends in for dinner, Cuban pork roast, rice and beans then the flan, and he is a flan LOVER has had it in many restaurants including some in Spain. when I served it, he said it blew him away, told him I would like constructive criticism so I could improve next time, he said it was perfect the way it was and not to fool around with recipe! I really wanted to thank "eka01" for her tips!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States