Spanish Cod Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
my boyfriend said "its like we have our own ivars in our kitchen" I am thinking he ment the nice fancy Ivars, not the fast food joint. I had to change it a little due to lack of ingredience... I used stewed tomatoes and omited the greek olives and spices. only think I would really change is the name... Mediteraian Cod not spanish cod. and I made brown rice as a side to sop up the left over sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliediane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Really really good, and easy. I did add the artichokes like others recommended. It still seemed like it was missing something, so I added a glug of balsamic vinegar and 2 glugs of red wine. That helped round out the flavor in my opinion. I think adding some kalamata olives or capers and mushrooms would be great too. We took the leftovers the next day, and added some additional tomato sauce and some fresh mussles...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Added some sliced mushrooms, and a couple of glugs of Sherry. Didn't have any tomato sauce, so used catsup. Worked out great. Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
My husband hates fish. This dish made a really nice dinner. I only had canned tomatoes, but I will try again with fresh tomatoes. Worked well with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Lawn Gnome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Really Really good.... I substituted artichoke hearts for the veggies... tastes better....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was just great! We had it with garlic mashed potatoes which went very well with the sauce. My husband who doesn’t like olives (at all) liked the flavor very much. The olives are not overpowering but add a bit of a salty taste. I can’t wait to try this sauce on chicken and even other types of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This came out really good and I am not used to cooking fish. I used marinated artichokes and sliced tomatoes but right before I served the dish I tossed in some whole wheat three cheese tortellini. I also garnished with chopped green onions and parsley. I also squeezed lime onto the pieces of cod. Ok, I am done with my alterations to the recipe but seriously, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I have not had fish in tomato sauce for a long time, so this was a treat. I did make a couple slight adjustments. I used left over pizza sauce as the tomato sauce, and I did have to add a splash of water, because it was very thick in the skillet. Also, I only used 1/4 cup olives instead of 1/2 cup, because I was afraid the dish would be too salty if I added all of them. (Turns out that it would probably be fine will the whole 1/2 cup). I served over couscous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This fish was not good - we did not eat it. Nobody in my family could even stand the smell. I just can"t beleive this recipe got so many good reviews. I followed the recipe to the "T". Sorry, but this was not to our taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Absolutely delicious! It had just the right amount of spice and saltiness...I almost always put salt on my food, and this was just right! I added some shrimp like the recipe said and it made it just the right amount of food to serve over rice. You rarely come across something healthy and good. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States