Spanish Cod Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made this in the spur of the moment after searching for some cod recipes. I didn't have tomato sauce on hand so substituted with some marinara sauce. Also didn't have olives or Italian veggies so substituted with more onion, green bell pepper, and pickled jalapeños. In addition to spices listed, I added Cajun seasoning. I realize I changed a lot, but I used this as a base recipe and dinner turned out great. Served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Larry Belcher
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I had a package of frozen cod in the freezer that had been there a while and wanted to use it up. So I looked around for something a little different and found a new comfort food dish! This dish is wonderful. I did indeed ad shrimp to this and replaced the marinated vegetables with giardiniera. This would have been great by itself but I made up some campanelle which I like because it holds sauce well. This dish is lighter than I thought it would be and not too salty either. Next time I am serving over rice and adding a bit more cayenne to spice it a little more. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Belcher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braidwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Delicious! I didn't have several of the ingredients (onions, olives, Italian Marinated salad) but even without those, the base itself was wonderful. Easy to make, and my husband loved it too, it has a nice flavor and a little kick to it. It's a keeper, I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
It's a fair presentation of bacalao a la vizcaína. The proper one does not have the veggies, and instead of olives it uses capers for that tang. We also add raisins to reduce the acidity of the tomato. You may try those substitutions if you wish, but this is very good as is. The artichokes addition is actually good, they are tastier :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Excellent, always rave reviews from guests, even those saying they don't care much for cod. Changed very few... I add about six ounces of chopped marinated artichokes to my marinated chopped Italian vegetables and sliced green olives. I serve with an artichoke salad. It's easy and fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I don't include cherry tomatoes, but tiny Yukon gold potatoes that I drizzle with olive oil, sea salt, and Spanish paprika. I microwave them for about 3 minutes and set aside (they don't need to be fully cooked at this stage. I then add them to the skillet ingredients once the diced tomatoes are added.; Secondly, I don't use tomato sauce, but diced Roma tomatoes. Third, Instead of the marinated veggies, I add about 1/2 cup of fresh tomato, onion, and jalapeño salsa, which is something of a staple in my house. Fourth, in addition to olives, I add 1 T of capers. Finally, I add some cumin (about 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp.) because my family particularly likes that spice and a splash of sherry. The heat factor can be easily modulated with the addition of more or less cayenne pepper and cumin. With the addition of the potatoes, all you need is some crusty bread to sop up the rich sauce and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Tasty goodness. I also used marinated artichoke hearts instead of the marinated Italian vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used gardeniera salad and grape tomatoes instead. Came out great. I also added very hot pepper flakes that a friend of mine sent me from his garden. A great side dish for this is broccoli rabe sauteed in olive oil and sliced garlic. I highly recommend this recipe. Wait for the main mix to boil first and then add the fish ASAP. Everything else doesn't need to be cooked just heated so adding the fish in right after the main mix boils will cook everything just right. Broccoli rabe needs to be boiled first for 5 minutes in water then sauteed for 15 minutes in the olive oil and garlic. So make sure you start that first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States