Spanish Cod Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I don't include cherry tomatoes, but tiny Yukon gold potatoes that I drizzle with olive oil, sea salt, and Spanish paprika. I microwave them for about 3 minutes and set aside (they don't need to be fully cooked at this stage. I then add them to the skillet ingredients once the diced tomatoes are added.; Secondly, I don't use tomato sauce, but diced Roma tomatoes. Third, Instead of the marinated veggies, I add about 1/2 cup of fresh tomato, onion, and jalapeño salsa, which is something of a staple in my house. Fourth, in addition to olives, I add 1 T of capers. Finally, I add some cumin (about 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp.) because my family particularly likes that spice and a splash of sherry. The heat factor can be easily modulated with the addition of more or less cayenne pepper and cumin. With the addition of the potatoes, all you need is some crusty bread to sop up the rich sauce and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Tasty goodness. I also used marinated artichoke hearts instead of the marinated Italian vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used gardeniera salad and grape tomatoes instead. Came out great. I also added very hot pepper flakes that a friend of mine sent me from his garden. A great side dish for this is broccoli rabe sauteed in olive oil and sliced garlic. I highly recommend this recipe. Wait for the main mix to boil first and then add the fish ASAP. Everything else doesn't need to be cooked just heated so adding the fish in right after the main mix boils will cook everything just right. Broccoli rabe needs to be boiled first for 5 minutes in water then sauteed for 15 minutes in the olive oil and garlic. So make sure you start that first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Great Flavors!! The only alteration I made was adding Frontera Roasted Tomato Salsa instead of the tomato sauce and a pinch extra of cayenne pepper. I enjoyed the flavor of the "Italian marinated salad", which is also found under the auspicious name of "Antipasto". Once I found that in the deli section of my grocery store I was good to go! The vinegar flavor of the Antipasto made a nice addition enhancing all the different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
After visiting Spain last fall, and often coming across cod served with tomatoes, I wanted to find a dish that incorporated tomatoes with the fish. This recipe is excellent. I do tweak it a bit, though. I add more Spanish herbs like thyme, basil, tarragon, rosemary. I eliminate the Italian deli veggies and add artichokes, not necessarily marinated. I add enough lemon so that I can taste it in the tomato liquid and that makes for a wonderful broth. And, I use only one type of pepper spice, not two. We usually eat it over either brown or white basmati rice. I have not served it at a group dinner, but only with family. That is my next step! Thank you Lundegaard1 for this wonderful, nutritious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerry L.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
BEST FISH EVER!!!This is so good and so very easy. After reading all the reviews, I was able to assemble all ingredients and substitutions. The cod needed to be used. Now I cant wait to buy more!! My family demanded that this go into our rotation. What could be better than a healthy meal everyone eats. Leftovers? None here - plates were wiped clean with bread. Here are my changes - most due to pantry contents: Used 1 zucchini sliced and sauteed with the onion. Used a can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes - what i had. Added 2 Tbsp tomato paste to thicken sauce. Chopped 2 Tbsp capers, 2 Tbsp salad peppers, 2 Tbsp kalamata pitted olives for Italian veg salad. Served over couscous and a small salad. Thanks again for such a GREAT recipe which offers so many variations to taste and pantry content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this over the weekend. We eat quite a bit of cod and I love Spanish flavors. I used the mixed vegetables from the grocery store olive/salad bar. This has marinated artichokes, garlic, sun dried tomatoes and black pitted olives. I chopped those removing the harder bits of the artichokes. I increased that to about 1/2 cup. I drained and chopped 2 Tablespoons of capers and added sliced lemon stuffed green olives,(they were what I had on hand). Overall it was a little over a Cup of veggies. I also used sweet onion and increased it to 1/2 Cup. I didn't have any Cayenne pepper so I used Chipotle pepper instead. My husband who claimed to not be hungry ate 2 helpings. The next day I had about a half pound of sea scallops, lightly browned those, and added them to the leftover fish and sauce. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I just made this recipe using canned artichokes instead of the deli mix and canned diced tomatoes (basil, garlic, onion) . I really like it. I am just getting over the flu and my buds are not at their best but this is very good and easy. UPDATE: WOW!!!! I just made this again using marinaded artichoke hearts and shrimp and it is amazing!!!!! I accidentally bought no salt diced tomatoes. Added some of the marinade from the artichokes and it tastes better than the last time I made it. I'm glad I doubled it for tomorrow. (If it lasts) I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
What a great way to dress up cod! I liked the idea of substituting artichoke hearts for the other vegetables. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Absolutely tasty! Didn't have the Italian salad, used canned artichoke hearts instead and add a touch of olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Will be making this recipe again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampstead, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States