Spanish Cod Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Delicious! I didn't have several of the ingredients (onions, olives, Italian Marinated salad) but even without those, the base itself was wonderful. Easy to make, and my husband loved it too, it has a nice flavor and a little kick to it. It's a keeper, I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
It's a fair presentation of bacalao a la vizcaína. The proper one does not have the veggies, and instead of olives it uses capers for that tang. We also add raisins to reduce the acidity of the tomato. You may try those substitutions if you wish, but this is very good as is. The artichokes addition is actually good, they are tastier :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Excellent, always rave reviews from guests, even those saying they don't care much for cod. Changed very few... I add about six ounces of chopped marinated artichokes to my marinated chopped Italian vegetables and sliced green olives. I serve with an artichoke salad. It's easy and fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I don't include cherry tomatoes, but tiny Yukon gold potatoes that I drizzle with olive oil, sea salt, and Spanish paprika. I microwave them for about 3 minutes and set aside (they don't need to be fully cooked at this stage. I then add them to the skillet ingredients once the diced tomatoes are added.; Secondly, I don't use tomato sauce, but diced Roma tomatoes. Third, Instead of the marinated veggies, I add about 1/2 cup of fresh tomato, onion, and jalapeño salsa, which is something of a staple in my house. Fourth, in addition to olives, I add 1 T of capers. Finally, I add some cumin (about 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp.) because my family particularly likes that spice and a splash of sherry. The heat factor can be easily modulated with the addition of more or less cayenne pepper and cumin. With the addition of the potatoes, all you need is some crusty bread to sop up the rich sauce and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Tasty goodness. I also used marinated artichoke hearts instead of the marinated Italian vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used gardeniera salad and grape tomatoes instead. Came out great. I also added very hot pepper flakes that a friend of mine sent me from his garden. A great side dish for this is broccoli rabe sauteed in olive oil and sliced garlic. I highly recommend this recipe. Wait for the main mix to boil first and then add the fish ASAP. Everything else doesn't need to be cooked just heated so adding the fish in right after the main mix boils will cook everything just right. Broccoli rabe needs to be boiled first for 5 minutes in water then sauteed for 15 minutes in the olive oil and garlic. So make sure you start that first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Great Flavors!! The only alteration I made was adding Frontera Roasted Tomato Salsa instead of the tomato sauce and a pinch extra of cayenne pepper. I enjoyed the flavor of the "Italian marinated salad", which is also found under the auspicious name of "Antipasto". Once I found that in the deli section of my grocery store I was good to go! The vinegar flavor of the Antipasto made a nice addition enhancing all the different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
After visiting Spain last fall, and often coming across cod served with tomatoes, I wanted to find a dish that incorporated tomatoes with the fish. This recipe is excellent. I do tweak it a bit, though. I add more Spanish herbs like thyme, basil, tarragon, rosemary. I eliminate the Italian deli veggies and add artichokes, not necessarily marinated. I add enough lemon so that I can taste it in the tomato liquid and that makes for a wonderful broth. And, I use only one type of pepper spice, not two. We usually eat it over either brown or white basmati rice. I have not served it at a group dinner, but only with family. That is my next step! Thank you Lundegaard1 for this wonderful, nutritious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerry L.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States