Spanish Beef and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was flavourful, simple, and easy! I didn't have chili powder but made my own (equal parts cayenne pepper, ground cumin, oregano, and garlic powder), and I used 2 cloves minced fresh garlic instead of the 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I also used 1 tsp of the spices in cooking the beef, and added 1/2 an orange bell pepper in addition to the green pepper. The texture was a bit mushy, but that was mostly my fault (instead of long-grain I used short-grain rice, which normally requires less liquid). Next time I will reduce the amount of broth, and I will try leaving the green pepper raw and mixing it in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl in Canada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was a great quick and easy recipe! My son couldn't get enough. I did add some ingredients. I used a can of stewed tomatoes (I did not have any sauce). I added 1 tsp of cumin, papika, 2 tbsp of Worcestershire, can of corn, can of Rotel and topped it off with some cheese. We will be eating this again in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
My family loves this recipe..the second time I made it, I changed it to 12 servings..the left overs are gobbled up with the next couple of days..the left overs did taste better so next time I am going to prepare the night before and let sit in the fridge for a day. I added some red pepper, corn and crushed red pepper and about 5-6 drops of hot sauce and cut back on the chili powder...we like spicier food. I love this recipe and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Great! Quick, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Used this recipe for years. I have a family of 6 and a full time job so on nights when I don't have anything ready this is always perfect. It's fast and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Vaughn Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was great! I did, however, do a few changes. I seasoned the beef and the onions while cooking them with garlic salt and paprika. I also used 8oz of salsa instead of 8oz of tomato sauce because I did not have any tomato sauce on hand. The end result - DELICIOUS! Other reviewers have stated that the recipe tasted too much like chili powder, but mine was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Okay, I changed this quite a bit but I give it 5 for the base and the ability to play with this dish - also the simplicity. I used ground turkey, I pan fried with onions and garlic, added cumin, chili powder, chipotle chili powder, and paprika. I added 1.25 cups of rice, 1/2 cup tomato sauce, 2.5 cups of water with 2 chicken bouillons mixed in. I also added black beans, Mexican red beans and corn - brought to a boil, then covered and turned down to low for 25 minutes. Served with shredded cheese and sour cream - LOVED IT. If you want it spicy add cayenne or hot sauce before simmering.. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
The family really enjoyed this, even my pickiest eaters. An adaptable recipe..I didn't have 14 oz of beef broth, so I used what I had - about 8 oz, and increased the tomato sauce to 15 oz. I also added some chopped tomato for texture. Easy supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I have never made this kind of dish before, but it is better than I expected. I used a 1lb 92 percent ground beef, I substitute chicken broth cube (2 in 2 cups of water), salsa instead of tomato sauce and 1/4 tsp 0f chayenne instead of chili powder( i dont like very spicy food) I think it was perfect to my taste, really good! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made this for my family ... they loved it ... I even used chicken broth because i was out of beef. I also added a can of black beans ... deeeelish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States