Spanish Beef and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Okay, I changed this quite a bit but I give it 5 for the base and the ability to play with this dish - also the simplicity. I used ground turkey, I pan fried with onions and garlic, added cumin, chili powder, chipotle chili powder, and paprika. I added 1.25 cups of rice, 1/2 cup tomato sauce, 2.5 cups of water with 2 chicken bouillons mixed in. I also added black beans, Mexican red beans and corn - brought to a boil, then covered and turned down to low for 25 minutes. Served with shredded cheese and sour cream - LOVED IT. If you want it spicy add cayenne or hot sauce before simmering.. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was great! I did, however, do a few changes. I seasoned the beef and the onions while cooking them with garlic salt and paprika. I also used 8oz of salsa instead of 8oz of tomato sauce because I did not have any tomato sauce on hand. The end result - DELICIOUS! Other reviewers have stated that the recipe tasted too much like chili powder, but mine was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This is a good base recipe, but for us it just needs some more spices. I think I would add a couple of garlic cloves and some red pepper flakes. I also thought that using a medium taco sauce instead of plain tomato sauce would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is simple yet tasty. Instead of the spices I substituted a packet of taco seasoning. I also added a can of diced tomatoes. I had to cook this for twice as long as the reciped stated, so the rice was not crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I thought it was good I had to use tomato paste so of course more water was needed... I made this before as is and was happy this time around I used paste again, but didn't do the broth and used ground turkey... Yummmy, Next will try something else or even one of the changes made by others but either way was very happy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dnisey64
Home Town: Markham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Used this recipe for years. I have a family of 6 and a full time job so on nights when I don't have anything ready this is always perfect. It's fast and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Vaughn Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
really like the flavors...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I was the only person at our dinner table to eat this, I think the amount of chili powder was a turn off...probably because we aren't used to it. I may try it again and skip it, however preparing recipe as is, I would rate a 3. THANK YOU FOR SHARING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Yummy! Spanish Beef and Rice has always reminded me of stuffed green peppers but less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made the recommendations from others (used fresh minced garlic, added cumin and paprika to the meat while cooking, used both diced tomatoes and tomato paste vs sauce, and brown rice vs white). I had to cook the whole dish for 40 mins. The end result was a very happy husband and a very picky toddler who both devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States