Spanish Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I love this recipe! I used to find a Spanish Bar cake at my local grocer, then, of course, no more. Their's had a frosting, and I knew it had spice in it, so when I make it, I top it with another recipe I found at this sight called Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting, combine the two together, you have one great cake that even cake haters love! (my son Mike love's this cake, he's not a cake eater) lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne DeBolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
i made a half recipe as a birthday cake for my boyfriend, rounded off my spices & baked the cake in a 4"x8" loaf pan for 40 minutes because the spanish bar i grew up with was loaf (bar) shaped. i then trimmed away the bottom & side edges, cut the bar into 2 layers & iced it with the outstanding "allspice cream cheese frosting" from this website. the combination was a knock out! thanks for your recipe janice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2000
A great cake -- and easy to make I WAS HAPPY TO FIND THIS OLD RECIPE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Not bad but it was way too moist!! must have been all the water, and cooking the raisins is the water for 10 mins was too long, they absorbed alot of water, the cake seemed to get wetter the longer it took to cool! and the raisins just seemed wet rather than being juicy. I will try again using less water and some brown sugar and wheat flour as this is how the A&P one is made. It also needs a frosting, I used butter icing sugar vanilla and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I don't like spice cake, but this was an awesome recipe! My mom mentioned how much she loved Spanish Bar Cake, so I made this for her birthday. She said it was very close to the original (A&P) version. Used the Allspice Cream Cheese Icing from this site. Wow! REally added to it. I cut the water for the raisins down to 3 1/2 cups, added extra allspice (didn't have cinnamon), 1 1/2 cups walnuts and used self-rising flour. The result was a deliciously moist cake that I'm planning to take to my in-laws for Thanksgiving. Mom also suggested adding a can of apple pie filling to the bottom of the pan before adding the batter over top. Baked for 40-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
This is wonderful. I made it last night for a Cinco de Mayo dinner, and everyone loved it. I iced it with the Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting here on the site, and it just complimented it perfectly. Tasted like a bakery cake. I followed the recipe, except I did put my raisins through my food processor, just to chop them up a little bit, and then, I thought that was just a bit too much batter for a 9X13 pan, so I used a 10X16 and it worked out just great. If you do use a bigger pan, adjust your time down about 6 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Excellent recipe!!! Easy to follow, and came out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milo, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made it just by this receipe and my family loved it. I iced it with cream cheese icing. It is a keeper. The next time I make it I will substitute 1 cup of sugar with 1 cup of brown sugar but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gknight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I found this recipe very unsucessful to make. There is to much water and the cake is very soft inside I tried this recipe, twice with the same results , cooking longer each time.It is not the A & P cake of my childhod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
A&P used to sell this with cream-cheese frosting. I loved when our mother would bring it home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States