Spanish Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2000
A great cake -- and easy to make I WAS HAPPY TO FIND THIS OLD RECIPE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I love this recipe! I used to find a Spanish Bar cake at my local grocer, then, of course, no more. Their's had a frosting, and I knew it had spice in it, so when I make it, I top it with another recipe I found at this sight called Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting, combine the two together, you have one great cake that even cake haters love! (my son Mike love's this cake, he's not a cake eater) lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne DeBolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
This is wonderful. I made it last night for a Cinco de Mayo dinner, and everyone loved it. I iced it with the Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting here on the site, and it just complimented it perfectly. Tasted like a bakery cake. I followed the recipe, except I did put my raisins through my food processor, just to chop them up a little bit, and then, I thought that was just a bit too much batter for a 9X13 pan, so I used a 10X16 and it worked out just great. If you do use a bigger pan, adjust your time down about 6 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I needed a "Spanish Dish" for my daughter's class (50 extra points) so came here. This cake is SO moist and flavorful ... I didn't use icing, but will try the one suggested by the other reviews next time - though it doesn't need any more flavor. I didn't use the nuts at my daughter's request ... may try them next time, this recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I didn't have raisins, so used chopped fresh cranberries, and a chopped fresh apple. Came out great, . Back in the late 40's my Mother used to buy a cake called "Spanish Bar Cake" from the Acme Markets, however that cake did not have raisins in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Not bad but it was way too moist!! must have been all the water, and cooking the raisins is the water for 10 mins was too long, they absorbed alot of water, the cake seemed to get wetter the longer it took to cool! and the raisins just seemed wet rather than being juicy. I will try again using less water and some brown sugar and wheat flour as this is how the A&P one is made. It also needs a frosting, I used butter icing sugar vanilla and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Pretty good, too many raisins though! I cut them back to a cup and a half and that seemed like a little too much. This is a good cake in general, very moist too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
i made a half recipe as a birthday cake for my boyfriend, rounded off my spices & baked the cake in a 4"x8" loaf pan for 40 minutes because the spanish bar i grew up with was loaf (bar) shaped. i then trimmed away the bottom & side edges, cut the bar into 2 layers & iced it with the outstanding "allspice cream cheese frosting" from this website. the combination was a knock out! thanks for your recipe janice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was good but tasted more along the lines of a spice cake than the spanish bar cake (store bought)that were use to but good and I would definately suggest you try...if you grew up with it as a family recipe than the store ones.Was worth the effort...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I found this recipe very unsucessful to make. There is to much water and the cake is very soft inside I tried this recipe, twice with the same results , cooking longer each time.It is not the A & P cake of my childhod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States